Aspects of Religion

Catholicism and Judaism in the eight Aspects of Religion

What is religion?

Religion can defined as a set of beliefs concerning the cause, nature, and purpose of the universe, especially when concerning the creation of a superhuman or greater being usually involving devotional and ritual activities and often containing a moral code to be applied to human affairs. It is also known as a specific fundamental set of beliefs and practices that are usually agreed upon and followed by a quantity of people. Within the overall term of religion there are also the many variances and different perceptions of faith which therefore form the individual religions. There is a lot of diversity amongst religion that split off into different sects. Some different religions include Roman Catholic, Sunni Muslim, Hindu, Buddhist, Orthodox Christian, Shi'ite Muslim, Anglican, Baptist and Sikh.

A religion may include:


  • Belief in supernatural beings (gods).
  • A distinction between sacred and profane objects.
  • Ritual acts focused on sacred objects.
  • A moral code believed to be sanctioned by the gods.
  • Characteristically religious feelings (awe, sense of mystery, sense of guilt, adoration), which tend to be aroused in the presence of sacred objects and during the practice of ritual, and which are connected in idea with the gods.
  • Prayer and other forms of communication with gods.
  • A world view, or a general picture of the world as a whole and the place of the individual therein. This picture contains some specification of an over-all purpose or point of the world and an indication of how the individual fits into it.
  • A more or less total organization of one’s life based on the world view.
  • A social group bound together by the above.

Diversity in Religion

Each of these symbols pictured below signify some part of a different Religion. For example the six pointed open star pictured in the middle of the top row is the Creator's Star or Star of Creation. It's six points stand for the six days of creation as well as representing the six attributes of God: power, wisdom, majesty, love, mercy and justice. This star is the same as the Star of David, a symbol of Judaism in modern-day Israel. The six-pointed star is of ancient origin and is used in many other religions carrying a variety of meanings. In different religious groups there are different aspects (e.g. symbols) that relate and form the basis of a religion. These are called the Eight Aspects of Religion.

Big image

The Eight Aspects of Religion

The eight aspects of religion are the base of nearly every religion. Upon closer inspection, most religions have some sort of content of their own creation and principles

that appropriately informs about each of the eight categories including Belief, Myths and stories, sacred texts, Rituals, Symbols, Social structure, Ethics and morals and finally Religious experience and spirituality.

Did you know?!

The cross is one of the earliest and most widely used Christian symbols. It basically symbolises the religion of Christianity. More specifically, it represents and memorialises Christ's death. A great variety of crosses have been developed, some with specific symbolic meaning and others that have simply become culturally associated with certain groups.

Each of the Eight Aspects of Religion

Big image


When in the concept of the eight aspects of religion, Belief is commonly defined as a strong credence and faith in a supernatural power or greater being that controls human destiny. It relates to the view or thought that something is a certain way or is of existence because of the supposed greater being/s.

Belief in Judaism

Some of the beliefs Jewish apply in Judaism include believing that there is only one God an that every person is equally important because all were created under the image of God.
Big image

Belief in Catholicism

Those who follow the Catholic faith believe that in the Trinity that compromises one overall God. It is believed that God will judge immediately who will go to heaven and who will go to hell.
Big image

Myths and stories

Myths and stories are sacred stories that support profound religious truths and provide messages that emphasise tradition and beliefs. They give meaning to essential questions such as questions of creation or the reason for pain and suffering.

Myths and stories in Judaism

Myths and stories relating to Judaism cam be found the Old Testament of the Christian Bible.

Myths and stories in Catholicism

Myths and stories can be found in the Bible in Catholicism. A well-known

Sacred Texts

A sacred text refers to a quantity of writing that provides meaning, purpose and guidance to those who hold a particular faith. It is regarded with great respect as well as being used for the worship of a supreme being.

Sacred texts in Judaism

The sacred text used for worship is named the Tanakh. It shares the same content as the bible's Old Testament. The Tanakh has different names for the different sections of the book. It consists of The Torah, the Prophets, the writings and the Hebrew scriptures.

Sacred texts in Catholicism

The Bible is the overall name for the Christian sacred text, although there are many different varieties within the Christian Bible. The Catholic Bible includes scriptures from many different writers combined into one.


Rituals may be described as repeated actions, often in the form of a ceremony, that hold religious meaning.

Rituals in Judaism

Jewish rituals include praying three times daily and a host of other ceremonies that constantly remind the Jewish of God's presence.

Rituals in Catholicism

In Catholicism it is common to celebrate important events on the Catholic calendar and pay your respects to God by attending mass and church while praying and receiving Eucharist. Catholics also complete the Christian sacraments.


Symbols can be definite objects or that of the like which relate to religious matter and the fundamental beliefs of a particular religion.

Symbols in Judaism

Symbols in Catholicism

Social Structures

Social Structures relate to the social arrangements within an arranged group.

Social structures in Judaism

An example of a social structure is that the President is elected by the Community board for a five year term and is assisted by two vice Presidents.

Social structures in Catholicism

The social structures in a Catholic church include the Pope, Cardinals, Bishops, Monsignors and Parish Priests.

Ethics and morals

(Covered in depth in previous flyer)

Religious Experience and Spirituality

Religious Experience can be considered as a time where physical and emotional contact with your personally believed supreme being is experienced. It can be described as a 'wow' moment between you and your that many portray an important message or hold special meaning.

Religious experience and Spirituality in Judaism and Catholicism

Due to how individual a religious experience is for each person, no matter what personal faith is followed, a specific and set example is hard to provide.