Year 11 SOR2

What you need to know:

This unit covers five main areas:

  1. Origins
  2. Principal Beliefs
  3. Sacred texts and writings
  4. Core Ethical Teachings
  5. Personal Devotion in the home

Each section has sample questions that you need to be able to answer. These are examples of 3-10 mark responses that could appear in an assessment task. Please complete them as you work through the unit.

You can access the Studies of Religion Syllabus here (page 22), and the syllabus dot points here


1. Origins

  • discuss the civilisation of the early inhabitants of the Indus Valley: the Harappan civilisation; the Aryans
  • describe the Vedic period
  • outline the early development of Hinduism to the era of the Upanishads
  • outline Hinduism as the Eternal Religion: Sanatana Dharma
  • describe the main features of devotion to the Gods: Vishnu; Shiva
The History of Hindu India (English narration and English subtitles)

2. Principal Beliefs

  • define Atman and Brahman
  • examine the principal Gods and Goddesses of Hinduism
  • investigate the connection between Dharma and Karma
  • outline the importance of Moksha for a Hindu devotee
  • recognise union with God through: Karma Yoga; Bhakti Yoga; Raja Yoga; Jñana Yoga

3. Sacred Texts and Writings

  • identify the importance for Hinduism of: the Vedas, including the Upanishads; the Ramayana and Mahabharata, including the Bhagavad Gita
  • examine extracts from the Vedas and the Epics which demonstrate the principal beliefs of Hinduism

4. Ethical Systems

  • outline the principal ethical teachings in Hinduism
  • describe the importance of ethical teachings in the life of adherents

5. Personal devotion in the home

  • outline puja as celebrated in the home
How to Have a Puja at Home