Montgomery County

Miller MacDonald

History and Geography

Montgomery county NC was formed from Anson county and was named in honor and respect of Richard Montgomery, a revolutionary war general who was killed in 1775.

The county is 502 square miles and is centered in the middle of the Uwharrie forest. Montgomery county NC is bordered by Randolph, Moore, Richmond, Stanley, and Davidson counties.

Montgomery county is a member of the regional triad councils of government. Montgomery county is in North Carolina's 8th congressional district, and is currently represented by Richard Hudson.

county commissioners

Jim Matheny, Chairman

Tripp Myrick, Vice Chairman

Anthony Copeland, Commissioner

Jackie Morris, Commissioner

Mike Criscoe, Commissioner