Say No To Drinking And Driving
By: Lorena Cazares
The Cost Of DWI
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a serious and expensive crime, even in the case of a first-time offender age 21 or older in which there is no crash, injury or death.
The minimum cost of a first conviction for DWI in New York State is estimated at $9,500. Similar estimates of minimum costs can be made for other states.
DWI in New York State (Estimated)
Attorney fees: $2,500
Insurance pool surcharge: $4,500
Additional Insurance Cost: $1,500
Fines: $500 (average)
Alcohol Evaluation/Treatment: $500
Minimum Cost: $9,500 1
New Jersey: $9,185 2
Texas: $10,707 3
Washington: $7,700 4
Missouri: $4,686 5
Louisiana: $4,500 6
To find an estimate from another state for the minimum cost of a DWI, simply enter “DWI Conviction Cost” and the name of the state in a search engine such as Google.
5 Facts About Drinking And Driving
- On average, a drunk driver will drive 80 times under the influence before their first arrest.
- Every 53 minutes in America, a life is lost in a drunk driving crash; that equates to 27 people every day.
- Every 90 seconds, someone is injured from a drunk driving incident.
- In 2011, 9,878 people were victims of drunk drivers.
- Traffic accidents are the leading cause of death for teens, and roughly one-third of these accidents involve alcohol or another substance.
30 Ways That DWI Can Affect You
- ILLEGAL STOP OF PERSON OR VEHICLE
- WEAVING INSIDE THE LANES IS NOT ILLEGAL
- ANONYMOUS REPORT OF DRUNK DRIVING
- STANDARD FIELD SOBRIETY TESTING IS INACCURATE
- NON-STANDARDIZED FIELD TESTS ARE INVALID
- BREATH TESTING IS INACCURATE
- BOOKING ROOM VIDEOS
- IN-SQUAD VIDEOS
- FAILURE TO PROVIDE SPEEDY TRIAL
- POLICE BLOOD TEST INACCURATE
- HOSPITAL BLOOD TEST INACCURATE
- BREATH TEST OPERATOR UNLICENSED
- BREATHALYZER MACHINE MALFUNCTIONS
- BREATH TEST OPERATOR LICENSE EXPIRED
- BREATH TEST DEVICE NOT APPROVED
- FAILURE TO PROVE DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
- INDEPENDENT WITNESSES
- FAILURE TO MIRANDIZE
- FIELD SOBRIETY TEST IMPROPERLY ADMINISTERED
- OFFICER’S PRIOR DISCIPLINARY RECORD
- PORTABLE BREATH TEST INADMISSIBLE
- PORTABLE BREATH TEST IMPROPERLY ADMINISTERED
- FAILURE TO CONDUCT OBSERVATION PERIOD
- EXPERT WITNESSES
- MEDICAL AND HEALTH PROBLEMS
- BAD WEATHER
- LACK OF PROBABLE CAUSE TO ARREST
- ILLEGAL SEARCH
- PRIOR INCONSISTENT STATEMENTS BY POLICE OFFICERS
- POST-DRIVING ABSORPTION OF ALCOHOL
You Need To List 5 Ways To Avoid Drinking And Driving
- Take mass transit, a taxi or ask a friend who is sober to drive.
- Stay over at the location of the activity.
- Call law enforcement officials to report impaired drivers. Drivers can dial #77 to report drink drivers.
- Always wear your seat belt.
- Take a cab or have someone escort you to your front door if you are intoxicated and traveling on foot.