Cognitive Development

Piaget's Theory

Pigetian Stages

Piaget's emphasizes that children move through these stages in a certain ages groups:
  • Sensorimotor Stage- Birth to 2 years
  • Preoperational Stage- 2 to 7 years
  • Concrete Operational Stage- 7 to 11 years
  • Formal Operational Stage- 11 years through adulthood

Key Supporters


Piaget's theory has many criticism that I believe we need to take into concentration. He based his finds on his own three children in the beginning. He also assumes all children have the same abilities making the stages inaccurate. Not all children will ever reach all of these stages. Piaget never took into concentration how much culture and education plays a role into a child's development.