Washtenaw County

Ann Arbor and around

About the County

Washtenaw County is located in southeast Michigan, covering an area of 720 square miles. Its 27 cities, villages and townships are home to about 354,000 citizens in urban, suburban, and rural settings. This mix of different settings provides many opportunities for education, recreation, business, agricultural, and home life. The two largest cities are Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, homes to two large universities - the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor and Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti.
Big image

Washtenaw Name

There are many legends concerning the name Washtenaw. Some people think it was the name of an Indian who lived near the mouth of the river. Other people think it was the Potawatamie word for large stream or river. Emerson Greenman, a former curator of the museum of anthropology at the University of Michigan, wrote that Washtenaw derived from the Algonquin and meant 'Far Country' with Detroit as the Point of reference.

Cities and History

Washtenaw County is situated in southeastern Michigan approximately 30 miles west of Detroit: Ann Arbor is the County Seat. Six cities: Ann Arbor, Dexter, Ypsilanti, Saline, Chelsea and Milan; and two incorporated villages: Manchester, and Barton Hills are located within the County. The County spans a distance of 30 miles east-west and extends 24 miles in the north-south direction. In 1990 the population was nearly 283,000 persons. By the year 2000 the population is expected to reach 350,000. It is one of the few Michigan counties which continues to grow at a moderate rate
Border-to-Border Trail (B2B) in Washtenaw County


Reverted gadgets