Cougar Corner

September 9, 2022

Upcoming Dates

Saturday, September 10 – Color Craze Family Fun Run

Monday, September 12 – PLC Team Time – School starts at 10:15

Friday, September 16

  • Picture Day
  • Popcorn Friday (Weather Permitting)

Saturday, September 17 – Flag Football game vs. Snowshoe @ CWC 11am

Friday, September 23

  • Popcorn Friday (Weather Permitting)
  • Flag Football Game @ Shaw – 4pm

Saturday, September 24 – Flag Football game @ Snowshoe 11am

Wednesday, September 28 – Elementary Track Meet @ 3pm - PHS

Thursday, September 29 - Title I Annual Meeting @ 4:00

Friday, September 30

  • Title I Zoom Meeting @ 9:30
  • Popcorn Friday (Weather Permitting)

Saturday, October 1 – Flag Football Tournament at Teeland Middle

Week of October 3

  • 4th & 5th Grade Boys & Girls Basketball Starts
  • 3rd – 5th Girls Who Code Starts
  • 3rd & 4th - Battle of the Books Starts

Friday, October 7 - Popcorn Friday - Last one until spring (Weather Permitting)

Week of October 11 – Orchestra Starts

Thursday, October 13 - 5th Battle of the Books Starts

Tuesday, October 4 - PTO Meeting at 4pm in the Library

Friday, October 14

  • End of Quarter 1
  • Last Popcorn Friday (Weather Permitting)

Friday, October 21 – Picture Retakes

Saturday, October 29 – Halloween Family Event 2:00pm to 4:30pm

Monday, October 31 – Parent Teacher Conferences – No School

Friday, November 11 – District PD Day – No School

Thursday, November 24 & Friday, November 25 – Thanksgiving - No School

Thursday, December 1 – Music Concert – 1st & 2nd Grade

Thursday, December 8 – Band, Choir & Orchestra Concert

Saturday, December 10 – School Selfies with Santa Event

Friday, December 16 – School-Wide Movie Field Trip

Thursday, December 22

  • Polar Express PJ Party
  • End of Quarter 2

Friday, December 23 – Staff Work Day – No School

Color Craze!

Come and have a BLAST at the best event of the year!


Saturday Sep 10 @ 1:00pm


Admission - $10 per person

T-Shirts - $10 each

Water bottle - $5 each



Schedule-

12:30- Park offsite and walk to school

12:30- Check in and splatter shirt

1:00- Group start

2:15- Group color throw & photo in front of the Cottonwood sign


Offsite parking locations:


  • Northern Edge Physical Therapy
  • Orthopedic Physicians of Alaska
  • Capstone Family and Eye Clinic


The sign-up form is attached to the email message and you can pay on-line through school pay or you can sign up and pay at the event.

Monday Morning Supervision

We recognize the delayed start on Monday mornings creates a burden for many families. Starting on Monday, September 19, we will be offering supervision for students from 9am to 10am. A teacher and assistant will be in the classroom to help students complete homework, practice skills on Lexia & i-Ready or read a book. Please email Dr. Goyette if you are interested in this opportunity at monica.goyette@matsuk12.us

No Bussing on Wednesdays and Thursdays

Reminder that our school us without regular education bus service on Wednesday and Thursday every week right now.

Found phone

A black cell phone was left on Bus #40 this week. If your child is missing a phone, please have them visit the office to identify and retrieve it.

Lost and Found

Our lost and found is filling up quickly already this year. If you recognize any of these items, please send your child to retrieve them!

Title I Right to Know