A Night Bach in Time

An Evening of Music

We invite you to join us as we listen to the world renowned music by Johann Sebastian Bach, the Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, written for the Margrave of Brandenburg, Christian Ludwig, in 1721.

This piece is orchestrated for violin, viola, cello, bass, and harpsicord. Featured soloists include James Galway on flute, Joshua Bell on violin, and Richard Fountain on harpsicord. We will take you back in time to 1721 and show you the stylistic and thematic ways that Bach wrote. At the beginning you will see a theme in the music and then towards the middle you will hear a new theme appear that then transfers into the final section.

Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D Major First movement

Thursday, Sep. 18th, 7:30pm

Harral Auditorium, Wayland Baptist, West 7th Street, Plainview, TX, United States

Reception to follow in auditorium lobby.