Knight Times

September 25, 2020

Have a question? Want to give a staff shout out?

If you have a question, please enter them in this form and a staff member will be in touch with you. We'd love for you to give a staff shout out to anyone that has helped you this school year!.

Free Breakfast and Lunch through December 2020

Free Lunch and Breakfast through December 2020!


Thanks to recent USDA waiver extensions, EVERY student enrolled in Klein ISD will receive breakfast

and lunch meals free of charge through December 2020!


We invite EVERY Klein student to eat a meal at any of our Klein campuses. We will also continue to

serve a la cart items to our students. A la carte prices can be found here.


What does my student need to do to receive their free breakfast or lunch? NOTHING! Simply have your

student go through any of our campuses serving lines and they can receive one free breakfast and

one free lunch meal daily! Meals include an entree, fruit, vegetable, and choice of milk.


Do I need to apply for meal benefits? We encourage families to apply for free or reduced priced

meals to maintain meal benefits beyond waiver extension and to receive additional benefits tied to

meal application (SAT fee waivers, etc.)


You can apply online at https://lunchapps.kleinisd.net at any time, or if there is a change in

household income.


How can I see what's on the breakfast and lunch menu? You can view menus, and more online at

https://kisd.us/food.


Thank you for continuing to support our program and our mission to provide EVERY student with a

healthy meal.


-Klein ISD Nutrition & Food Services

Dates to Know:

Reminder - Students may begin entering the building at 8:30 am each morning. If they arrive or are dropped off before 8:30 am, there is not supervision provided.


September:

September 21 - October 16 students will be MAP testing throughout their math, science and ELA classes. Teachers will update their weekly agendas in Schoology so you know when your child will be taking their MAP tests in class.


October:

1 - Progress Reports released in Skyward

9 - Student Holiday/Staff Development Day

12 - Student Holiday

MAP Testing Window is September 21 - October 16

Students will begin MAP testing this week through their math, science and

ELA classes. Online and on campus students will participate. We have

created a presentation that students watched through QUEST, but we are

sending it to parents as well so you can review with your child as well. There

is a technology website check that needs to be done to make sure they

connect well to the NWEA testing website.

You can look through this presentation with your child to know what MAP

testing is all about.

You can also have them visit this website to check to see if their connection

works. If they have any errors pop up, please have your child email me at

tbrogger1@kleinisd.net

Have You Joined the Krimmel PTO?

Visit www.krimmelpto.com to join PTO today!

Counselor Corner

Krimmel Conversations, September 24th

If you weren't able to log in live for our Krimmel Conversations on September 24th, here is the presentation we shared!

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1jADZs5TWgrWEg6cMWRwa6uZLEkFe4jwUJDRRIgIrubo/edit?usp=sharing

The video recording will be added next week to our Counseling Page on our Krimmel website.

College and Career Week_We Need YOU!

The counselor’s need your help! We are hosting our first College and Career Week in October and would love for our kids to learn about as many of your careers as possible. Please consider helping us out with a brief 2 minute video of you “in action”. We are so grateful for our amazing Krimmel Parents and for our first ever College and Career Week.

https://forms.gle/Ztc7BkRZPvZYSCae9

Gifted and Talented (GT) Referral Window

The Gifted and Talented (GT) Referral window is open from September 8, 2020 – September 27, 2020. If you’d like to request that your child be screened, please complete the online Student Referral form which gives consent to screen and test your child for the 2020-2021 school year. Please note, the student referral window closes at 11:59 p.m. on September 27th. For more information about Advanced Academics in Klein ISD, please check the Advanced Academics website.

Virtual Counselor Request for Students

Students on campus and online and can submit a virtual request and the counselor will contact them.


6th Grade:

bit.ly/6thvirtualcounseling

7th Grade:

bit.ly/7thvirtualcounseling

8th Grade:

bit.ly/8thvirtualcounseling

Parent/Guardian Survey from the Counselors

Our counselors would like to do a quick check-in with families to see how kids and parents are adjusting now that school has started. We would also love your feedback on topics you would like to hear more about during our quarterly Krimmel Conversation presentations.

Library Information

Virtual Book Fair

Our online JLG Virtual Bookfair is happening Monday, November 2 through Friday, November 13.

https://youtu.be/IlNzcRaNJWg

Tech Tips

Thank you for a great start to Klein Online. To help maintain success during online instruction please remind your student to:

Stay engaged- answer questions from the teacher either with voice or in chat.

Turn on your camera- this allows the teacher to better determine if you are stuck or have a question.

Be present- Allowing the teacher to offer timely feedback so that you can continue your learning journey.

Name- Use your first and last name so that your teacher can get to know you.


Technology Onboarding

We have created a Nearpod that will allow students and parents to go

through our Technology Onboarding at their own pace and as many times as

needed. You can go to https://nearpod.com and enter the join code: BHUZE.

Big picture

Names and Numbers to Know

Principal, Prentiss Harper, 832-375-7220, pharper@kleinisd.net

Principal's Secretary, Liz Harrison, 832-375-7220, eharrison3@kleinisd.net

Receptionist, Janice Engel, 832-375-7202, jengel1@kleinisd.net

Attendance, Delia Gardner, 832-375-7210, dgardner1@kleinisd.net

Clinic, Michelle Johnson and Dorothea Trotter, 832-375-7212, mjohnson8@kleinisd.net or dtrotter@kleinisd.net

Registrar, Robin Wilmes, 832-375-7141, rwilmes@kleinisd.net


6th Grade Office:

Secretary, Esmeralda Loftin, 832-375-7160, eloftin1@kleinisd.net

Counselor, Kelly Wayland, 832-375-7164, kwayland1@kleinisd.net

Assistant Principal, Tanya Brogger, 832-375-7165, tbrogger1@kleinisd.net


7th Grade Office:

Secretary, Kaye Lee, 832-375-7170, vlee1@kleinisd.net

Counselor, Aimee Thompson, 832-375-7174, athompson2@kleinisd.net

Assistant Principal, Ryan Youngblood, 832-375-7175, ryoungblood1@kleinisd.net


8th Grade Office:

Secretary, Tiffany Kirtley, 832-375-7180, tkirtley1@kleinisd.net

Counselor, Priscilla Hurst, 832-375-7184, phurst1@kleinisd.net

Associate Principal, Stephanie Langner, 832-375-7185, slangner@kleinisd.net


Special Education Department:

Secretary, Erin Stevenson, 832-375-7152, estevenson1@kleinisd.net