5 Major World Religions

Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam

5 Major Religions


Christianity was founded in the early 1st century AD, through the teachings, of Jesus of Nazareth. Christians believe that there is one God, making Christianity monotheistic.it is also believed that God comes in three form, know as the trinity. In Christianity, God comes as the father, the son, and the Holy Spirit. The people who follow this religion believe that God sent his son, Jesus, down to Earth in human form to be crucified for everyone's sins so that people can be closer to God. It is believed that three days after Jesus died, he rose from the dead. This day is celebrated as Easter. Another holiday that the Christian religion celebrates is Christmas. Christmas represents the day that Jesus was born. Today Christianity is the largest religion in the world, and has about 2 billion followers. Most people who follow the Christian religion attend church on Sundays, pray to God, and read the "Holy Book", the Bible.


Judaism is one of the oldest religions in the world. It was founded over 3500 years ago and originated in the Middle East. People who follow this religion are called Jews. A common belief is that God appointed the Jews to be his chosen people in order to set an example of holiness and ethical behavior to the world. Judaism is a monotheistic religion, the Jews only believe in one God. Some holidays that Jews celebrate include Hanukkah (celebration of freedom) and Passover (commemoration of the liberation of the Children of Israel who were led out of Egypt by Moses). Some practices in Jusaism include reciting the written services aloud in a synagogue, and reading the Torah and Talmud.


People that follow Hinduism believe in karma, the thought that everything you do will come back to you, either in a good way or a bad way. Hindus believe that everyone's soul reincarnates, that through each birth and death souls are reborn until all karmas have been resolved. Hindus also believe that rituals temple worship, personal devotionals, and sacraments create a communion with these devas and Gods. Some Hindu holidays include Holi (a festival of colors and spring) and Diwali (a festival of lights and Laksmi). Hindus are expected to pass through four stages (also called ashramas) in their life: brahmacharga, grastha, vanaprastha, and sanngasu. Hindus also read their holy books, the Vedas, the Ramayana, the Mahabharata, and the Puranas. Hinduism is a polytheistic religion that believes that a supreme God comes in many forms.


People who follow the religion of Buddhism are often referred to as Buddhists. One of the main Buddhist beliefs is the four truths. These truths are: 1. life is suffering 2. suffering is caused by craving and aversion 3. suffering can be overcome and happiness can be attained 4. the Noble 8-fold Path is the path which leads to the end of suffering. The Noble 8-fold Path is basically having good morals and focusing on important things. Buddhists also believe in karma and recantation like Hindus do. Buddhism is neither a monotheistic nor a polytheistic religion because the people do not worship a God, they idolize others. Common Buddhist holidays include The Buddhist New Year, and Vesak (Buddha Day). They holy book that Buddhists use is the Tripitaka. Buddhists worship through Meditation (Mental concentration and mindfulness), Mantras (Sacred sounds), and Mudras (Symbolic hand gestures).


People who follow the Islam religion are referred to as Muslims. Qur'an is the sacred book in the Islamic religion. Islam is a monotheistic religion, and the God that they worship is named Allah. Some typical Islam beliefs about Allah include that Allah is perfect, no one has as much power as him, and he need ps to be worshipped. Muslims also believe that Allah never gets tired, sleeps, or dies, and he does not have and weakness. People who follow this religion do not believe that humans are created in the direct image of Allah. Some commonly celebrated holidays in the Islam religion include Eid Al-Fitr and Eid Al-Adha. The main practices are called the 5 Pillars of Islam. They are:

  1. Daily confession of faith (shahada)
  2. Daily ritual prayer (salat)
  3. Paying the alms tax (zakat)
  4. Fasting during the month of Ramadan (sawm)
  5. Pilgrimmage to Mecca (hajj)