Endangered Animals



Tigers are mammals and belong to the felidae family also known as the cat family. There are six types of tigers. The Bengal tiger which is the most common and lives mainly in India and Bangladesh. the Indochinese tiger which is smaller and darker than the Bengal. The Sumatran tiger which can only be found on the Indonesian Island of Sumatra and is the smallest of all the subspecies of tigers. The Malayan tiger which is a national icon in Malaysia and the smallest of the mainland tigers. The Siberian tiger also known as the Amur tiger and is known as one of the biggest felids to ever exist. The Southern China tiger which is critically endangered. There have been no sightings of these in the wild since 1983 and only a few remain in captivity in China. They are listed as one of the 10 most endangered animals in the world. There were also three other subspecies of tigers that are now extinct. The Bali tiger, Caspian tiger and the Javan tiger.


Tigers have a golden coat with black stripes to help them camouflage. It also looks like the tiger has white fur under it's body. Depending on where they live they have different shades. The tigers that live in the north are usually a lighter colour and the tigers that live further south have a darker shaded coat. They have sharp teeth to kill their prey. They have long white whiskers and a long tail.

Big image


Tigers live in China, Russia, India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar, Vietnam, Thailand, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, and Indonesia. A few may still be in North Korea.

Depending on which subspecies they are, tiger like to live in tropical rainforests, evergreen forests, mangrove swamps, grasslands, savannas and temperate forests. They like to live in habitats with dense vegetation with access to water and presence of large ungulate prey to survive.

Big image


Tigers are at the top of the food chain. They mainly eat large mammals, such as pigs, deer, antelope, buffalo, and gaur. Their preferred and essential food is ungulates – hoofed animals such as deer and wild pigs.
Smaller mammals and birds are occasional prey. Tigers have also been known to eat crocodiles, fish, birds, reptiles, and even other predators like leopards and bears.
After eating its fill, the tiger may cover the remains with grass or debris and then return for additional meals over the next several days.
A tiger can consume up to 40 kg of meat at one time, but individuals in zoos are given 5-6 kg per day.

Solitary hunters

Tigers hunt primarily by sight and sound rather than smell, and typically hunt alone.
They stalk their prey and, once they have reached close proximity, attack from the side or rear, killing by a bite to the neck or the back of the head.
Big image


Tigers can move very fast. They can run fast and they are also very good swimmers. Some species of tigers like the Sumatran Tiger have webbed feet to help them swim faster.


On average, tigers give birth to 2-3cubs every 2-2.5 years, and sometimes every 3-4 years. If all cubs die, a second litter may be produced within 5 months. Gestation is usually 104-106 days and births occur in caves, a rocky crevice or in dense vegetation. Tigers are born blind and depend on their mother from birth. The mother will feed her cubs with her milk for about 6-8 weeks then she will bring them meat that she has killed. Tigers generally gain their independence at 2 years of age and attain sexual maturity at 3-4 years for females and at 4-5 for males. Juvenile mortality is hig however: about half of all cubs do not survive more than 2 years. Tigers have been known to reach the age of 26 in the wild.

Big image

Other Instresting facts

Tigers are the largest members of the cat family (Felidae). The other big cat members of this family are lions, panthers and jaguars.

These large, predatory felines are known for their iconic orange fur and black stripes. Fur colors do range across the subspecies though, with Sumatran tigers are typically sporting the darkest coats, and Bengal tigers sometimes sporting white coats thanks to a recessive gene. Stripes can vary in color and spacing across the subspecies as well.