MGM 8th Grade House News

September 28, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 8th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 8th-grade house highlights. These newsletters will be emailed every Friday.

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration:

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net

House Leader

Ashley Holmes aholmes@lexington1.net


8th Grade Core Teachers

Please see the attached information for 8th grade core teachers. Each content area also provided tips for success in these classes.


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

French - Catherine Pontens-Alemu - cpontens-alemu@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish - Hilda Duarte - hduartegomez@lexington1.net

Spanish - Filder Segura - fsegura@lexington1.net

MGM Serves first Responders

The CREW lessons scheduled for last week centered around the history of 9/11 and how we can honor our local first responders. As a leadership group, we decided to continue with these lessons as the timing of it will be a very authentic way to show our students how important first responders are to us and that we appreciate them.


As a component of these lessons and with the help of some first responders, we have compiled a list of useful supplies for the first responders in our community. This will be one of our service projects for this year to give back to the people that are so helpful during a time of crisis.


Click the supply list to see the suggested items. Please note that your contribution is not limited to the items on this list. This list is simply suggestions that will help first responders complete their jobs to the best of their ability. If you and your student can contribute have your student bring the items in to his/her CREW leader. We will be in CREW everyday the rest of this week as well as next week. These items will be distributed to 12 different local first responder groups in our community including law enforcement, EMTs/paramedics, and fire fighters.


Donations are being collected until October 1, 2018. Thank you.

8th Grade Trip - New York and Philadelphia


Hello everyone,

I wanted to reach out one last time to invite you and your child on our Philadelphia and New York City 2019 tour. Some parents had asked for a reminder of the final deadline, so I’m sending this as a courtesy.

Our final deadline to sign up at this price will be October 1st, 2018. Prices increase after this date so we’re officially closing our enrollment window on the 30th. I expect all spots on tour to be filled by the deadline.

I would love for you to join us on this unforgettable experience! Visit our tour website below to enroll on the trip: www.efexploreamerica.com/2108301ZZ or call EF Explore America at 1-888-333-9756.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

Best,

Janet Dorneker

MGM Counseling Department - Follow us on Twitter: @mgmcounseling

MGM PTO NEWS

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.

PTO FUNDRAISER

Big picture

Basketball Pre-season Workouts

Basketball pre-season workouts for boys & girls will begin next Monday Sept. 10th from 5:45 to 6:45


This is for 7th and 8th graders only! In order for you to participate you need to hand in an updated physical to Coach Cobb. Updated physicals must be dated April 1st or after, NO EXCEPTIONS. Physical packets are located in the front office. See Coach Cobb for a copy of the workouts or any other questions. IF YOU ARE IN SEASON YOU MAY NOT PARTICIPATE UNTIL AFTER YOUR SPORT IS OVER.

Encore News

MGM Music Fundraiser (Band, Orchestra, and Choir) starts Friday, Oct. 5!


8th grade iCivics Chick-fil-A applications due Monday!

8TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: See Schoology for updates


ENGLISH I: See Schoology for updates


PRE-ALGEBRA: Unit 2 Test on Friday (10/5)


ALGEBRA I: Ch.3 Test on Thursday (10/4)


GEOMETRY: Transformations Formative Tuesday (10/2)


SCIENCE : Summative Assessment Friday, October 5. Motion, Speed, and Time-distance Graphs


SOCIAL STUDIES: Monday 10/1- Unit 1-4 Jim Crow Era Quiz

Wednesday 10/3- Gaining and Losing Rights Test (Units 1-3 & 1-4)


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the link to view assessments.

8th Grade Happenings

Lots happening in 8th Grade. Our students are off to an amazing start!

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We look forward to a great school year!