Brittany Woods Broadcast

October 24, 2020

Message From the Principal

Dear BW Families,


As Dr. Hardin-Bartley has just shared, we are working to gradually welcome our kids back to campus, starting with our 6th graders. I know the news is both exciting and full of wonderings as we navigate the multiple questions that inevitably come with managing safety during this time. I want you to know that we understand all the different emotions that families are experiencing right now and working hard to create a safe, nurturing, learning environment for our kids. It’s hard to believe that we have not heard the musical sounds of middle school feet in our school since March. The thought of seeing kids again in person does fill me with joy and I’m excited to meet kids in person!


The most important thing we need from you right now is to fill out the parent commitment form (links below) and let us know if your child will return in-person or remain virtual. Please fill out the form as soon as possible so we may continue planning to ensure that our numbers are even in both cohorts and our schedules as balanced as possible. I’ve had numerous conversations with folks about what to do and I can assure you that there is not one right decision. Each decision made must be right for each family and we will support each child, in person or virtually.


In the coming days and week, you will begin to receive lots of information about returning to the building. Please don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any questions. If you are a parent of a 6th grader, please attend one of the parent webinars next Wednesday, October 28th either at 9:00am or 5:00pm (zoom links below), we would love to see you there and answer questions. 7th and 8th grade parent webinars will be held in November.


Have a wonderful weekend.


With gratitude,
Grace

Parent Commitment Forms

Please complete the commitment form that corresponds to your student's grade level by Friday, October 30th.


6th Grade


7th/8th Grade

6th Grade Parent Webinars

A Note from the Nurse

If your student will require daily medication or treatments (inhaler, diabetes care, etc) while back at school, please contact me as soon as possible to arrange medication drop-off. Your student's pediatrician office can fax the following important plans to me if applicable: asthma action plan, diabetes action plan, or seizure action plan. Also, please feel free to call me if you have any questions or updates regarding your student's current health.


dbashiti@ucityschools.org

Phone: 314-635-0820

Fax: 314-997-1786


Looking forward to keeping your students healthy and safe!


Dena

Big picture

After School Activities

To see information about the activities offered this year, please click here.

Pumpkin Stroll-October 24th

- Families are asked to carve the pumpkins and bring them to the Balson entrance of the high school on Saturday, Oct. 24 between 3 and 5 p.m.

- PTOs are providing LED candles

- Optional distanced carving stations with carving tools will be set up from 2 to 5 outside the Balson entrance of the high school on the 24th from 2 to 5 p.m.

- The Stroll goes from 6 to 8 p.m. around the high school track with the lit pumpkins spaced apart.

- Parking in the JP lot.

- DJ

- Free glow sticks for kids

- Safety masks required

- Costumes encouraged but not required

- Children must be accompanied by an adult

- Wear comfortable shoes.

- Sponsored by the District, PTOs. SDUC Education Foundation and Wyman.

Big picture

Wednesday U Time 1st Quarter

On Wednesdays, students are engaged in asynchronous learning and teachers are engaged in professional development and meetings during the morning. In the afternoons, from 12:30-3:00pm, teachers will be holding office hours to meet with students to answer any questions or reteach. Please email your teacher and let them know that you would like to make an appointment to meet with your teacher.

Tutoring Help

Big picture

Online Tutoring Available

Free online tutoring is being offered by St. Louis County Library from 10 AM - 10 PM.


Tutor.com connects students in grades K-12 with live tutors in a safe and secure online classroom. Students can access academic tutoring, homework help and test prep assistance. Resources are also available for early college students, adult learners and job seekers. Anyone with a valid St. Louis County Library card can use tutor.com.

Live tutoring is available from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. every day of the week. Students may also upload a document 24/7 to receive tutor feedback.

To get started, visit tutor.com and log in with your last name, library card number, and PIN.

This program is part of the Digital Equity Initiative, announced in July 2020 by St. Louis County Executive Dr. Sam Page.

Big picture

Virtual Curriculum Night

In case you missed it, please click this link to view our Virtual Open House. You will see a map of our building and teacher's names in the areas where their classrooms are located. Enjoy your visit and we hope to see you in person soon.

Contact Information

Grace Lee, principal – glee@ucityschools.org

Pablo Flinn, 6th assistant principal – pflinn@ucityschools.org

Kellie Willis, 6th counselor – kwillis@ucityschools.org

Yvonne Rooks, 7th assistant principal – yrooks@ucityschools.org

Emily Bardot, 7th counselor – ebardot@ucityschools.org

Cate Pautsch, 8th assistant principal – cpautsch@ucityschools.org

Rashaad Davenport, 8th counselor – rdavenport@ucityschools.org

Stephani Hudson, SSD area coordinator – shudson@ucityschools.org

Allegra Grawer, school social worker – agrawer@ucityschools.org

Dena Bashiti, school nurse- dbashiti@ucityschools.org

Tech support- wo@ucityschools.org

Brittany Woods Main Office – 314-290-4280