Trix Family News

Week of May 16, 2022

Big picture
Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (23 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 4)

Happy Sunday Family!


What a beautiful weekend!! I hope the scholars got out and enjoyed the sun this weekend. Let's encourage our scholars to get off their electronic devices and ride their bikes, play in the sun, and just be kids.


We are now starting our NWEA testing. As with MSTEP we are asking families to be mindful of scholar attendance. It is very important for scholars to be in attendance for testing. Please review the tips below to ensure your scholars are ready for testing.



Testing Tips for Parents


1. Make sure your child gets plenty of rest the night before the test.

2. On the morning of the test, your child needs to get up in plenty of time so he/she won't feel rushed.

3. Feed your child a good breakfast. Research shows that children do better on tests if they have had a good breakfast. (Trix Academy Breakfast runs from 8:05am-8:25am)

4. Do as much as you can to make your child feel comfortable. Try not to say things to make him/her feel more nervous.

5. Reassure your child that no matter the outcome of the test you will still love him/her. Encourage them to simply do their best.

6. Take an active role in your child's education throughout the school year. Let your child know you are interested in his/her learning by taking part in the entire process.

7. Give your child praise even if he or she didn't do well on the test.


Lastly, Summer Advantage begins in June and spaces are going fast. We have 14 spaces left so if you want your scholar to participate, please sign up. If you have signed up your scholar for Summer Advantage please attend the parent virtual meeting on Tuesday, May 17th at 4:30. The link is below:

https://meet.google.com/zxo-yaoq-qgz



Let's make it a wonderful week!!!


Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

Spring Assessment Schedule Week of May 16th

Monday May 16th - May 20th MSTEP Make Up Assessments (Window Closes May 20th)


NWEA Assessments Begin (ELA Testing)


Monday, May 16th 1st Grade

Tuesday, May 17th Kindergarten and 2nd Grade

Wednesday, May 18th 3rd Grade - 5th Grade

Thursday, May 19th 6th - 8th Grade

Friday, May 20th K-8th Make Ups

SUMMER ADVANTAGE VIRTUAL PARENT MEETING TUESDAY MAY 17TH 4:30PM

Big picture

87% of spots have been filled. Do not miss out only 14 spots left for this summer.

Summer Advantage 2022: Registration & Dates Now Available
Big picture

Climate and Culture

Climate & Culture

  • Scholars can wear school uniform style shorts until the end of the school year
  • NO sandals, open toed shoes or crocs allowed(for safety reasons)
  • Scholars must be in attendance daily
  • Please make sure you pick scholars up on time at dismissal

Big picture

Kickboard Store Friday, May 20th

Big picture

77% Average Daily Attendance the week of May 9th - May 13th DAILY GOAL 95%

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

Upcoming May Dates

May 17th NWEA Testing Begins

May 18th Kindergarten - 1st Grade Belle Isle Nature Center

May 25th Kindergarten Round Up

May 27th-May 30th Memorial Day Weekend No School

May 31st School Resumes

Big picture
Big picture

Attention 8th Grade Parents (Male Mentorship Opportunity)

Southfield Kappa League is now accepting application for membership for the 2022-2023 schoo year! Open to all Southfield and Detroit Metropolitan Area young men of high school aged to grow and develop their leadership talents in every phase of human endeavor.

Deadline is June 1, 2022.

Big picture
May 7th Kids Business Fair & Made In Michigan Fair

Observe the opportunity for children to launch their very own startup business PLUS shop Made In Michigan vendor booths for a family fun day of shopping, activties and outdoor fun!

May 17th 2022 Construction Science Expo

Construction careers showcase for young Detroit students emphasizing Engineering & skilled trades. New location! Durfee Innovation Society

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.