World Language Newsletter

January 2016

Big image
Big image
Big image

What are the World-Readiness and Proficiency Standards for Language Learners


The World-Readiness Standards speak to what is called the 5 C's (Communication, Communities, Cultures, Comparisons, and Connections). These five areas stress the application of learning a language beyond a instructional setting. The goal is to prepare learners to apply the skills and understandings measured by the Standards (a brief summary of these is explained below) to bring a global competence to their future careers and experiences.


The ACTFL (American Council of the Teaching of Foreign Languages) Proficiency Guidelines are a description of what individuals can do with language in terms of speaking, writing, listening, and reading in real-world situations in a spontaneous and non-rehearsed context. For each skill, these guidelines identify five major levels of proficiency: Distinguished, Superior, Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice. The major levels Advanced, Intermediate, and Novice are subdivided into High, Mid, and Low sub levels. The levels of the ACTFL Guidelines describe the continuum of proficiency from that of the highly articulate, well-educated language user to a level of little or no functional ability.

These Guidelines present the levels of proficiency as ranges, and describe what an individual can and cannot do with language at each level, regardless of where, when, or how the language was acquired. Together these levels form a hierarchy in which each level subsumes all lower levels. The Guidelines are not based on any particular theory, pedagogical method, or educational curriculum. They neither describe how an individual learns a language nor prescribe how an individual should learn a language, and they should not be used for such purposes. They are an instrument for the evaluation of functional language ability.

- See more at: http://www.actfl.org/publications/guidelines-and-manuals/actfl-proficiency-guidelines-2012#sthash.zUzLNOKA.dpuf
or http://www.actfl.org/sites/default/files/pdfs/World-ReadinessStandardsforLearningLanguages.pdf

World Language Teachers

Big image

Teacher Contact Information

French Teachers
  1. Jill Hanson-Follingstad (French 1 & 4CIS) jhanson@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  2. Meghan Johnson (French 2 & 3)mjohnson@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us


German Teachers

  1. Mary Fred Bausman-Watkins (German 1 & 2)mbausmanwatkins@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  2. Rebecca Bilbro (German 1 & 2)rbilbro@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  3. Jon Ingalsbe (German 2 &3) jingalsbe@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  4. Birgit Pope (German 1 & 4S2S)bpope@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us


Spanish Teachers

  1. Jana Hidalgo (Spanish 3, 4CE & 4)jhidalgo@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  2. Kate Dunklee (Spanish 2, 3 & Medical Spanish)kdunklee@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  3. Maria Lecceardone-Brown (Spanish 4 & 5CE)mlecceardone@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  4. Betty Martin (Spanish 2)bmartin@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  5. Amber Sevald (Spanish 1 & 3)asevald@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  6. Amy Steen (Spanish 1 & 3)asteen@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
  7. Courtney Torrent (Spanish 2)ctorrent@priorlake-savage.k12.mn.us
Big image

French Student of the Month

Megan “Marie” Skapyak Megan is the French student of the month. Megan is a hard-working French 1 student, who is always willing to help out in the classroom, and comes to class every day with a positive attitude. She was very generous for our recent Fête de Noël, and brought hot chocolate and juice for the class. In addition, Megan earns perfect scores on almost everything that she does! Félicitations, Megan!

German Students of the Month

Madison Kanz Maddie is a German 2 student that is always going above and beyond. She has great interest in the language and culture. She is often asking for more in depth meaning and wondering how to say new and exciting phrases. She is a great student leader in the classroom and I hope it continues in the future. Gut gemacht!


Ben Parks Ben is nominated for his generous good humor and his steadiness. He demonstrates a quick ear for the German language and is learning at a rapid rate. He is a pleasure to have in class. Gut gemacht!

Spanish Students of the Month

Sarah Demers Sarah has demonstrated outstanding Spanish skills from day one. She is a student who pushes herself to use the language at all times. She is a great motivator to others in class as well. She encourages others to use the language in general conversation. Sarah is a truly enjoyable student to have in class and is well on her way to become and advanced language student. ¡Felicitaciones!

Cooper Lind
As a Spanish 3 student, Cooper Lind is consistent in his efforts and excellent in the results! He adds his personal touch to assignments, such as humor to a demonstration speech. Cooper is polite, respectful, and thoughtful in his actions toward others. ¡Felicitaciones, Cooper!

Department News and Happenings

Big image

French Department News

Fête de Noël

In all French classes, we enjoyed our Fête de Noël, on December 22, when we enjoyed some French pastries and Bûche de Noël (Yule-log cake), from Edelweiss Bakery in Prior Lake. We sang and listened to some French holiday songs, as well. See attached photos.


In French 1, we will be receiving our Pen-Pal letters at the beginning of January, so we’re looking forward to our continued correspondence with our new friends.

Spanish Department News

Big image

Celebrando los Días Festivos

Many Spanish classes took time to learn several traditional and not so traditional Spanish holiday songs. Students enjoyed looking at the difference in songs from one country to the next. Some classes wanted to show what they had learned by caroling other language classrooms.

Maria Lecceardone-Brown

If you have suggestions for our newsletter, please send them to me. Thank you for your time.