3L Weekly News

Week Ending December 11, 2015

This week in...

Reading:

  • We read a traditional tale titled The Harvest Birds. Students will be reading it Monday night for homework.

  • This text was written by Blanca Lopez de Mariscal and illustrated by Linda Cane.

  • During whole, small, and individual instruction we worked on drawing conclusions to better enhance our comprehension.

  • Students learned that drawing conclusions means to make an educated guess about something the author does not say explicitly.

  • In addition, we practiced inferring and predicting. We became detectives and used our schemas and evidence from the text and pictures to make inferences about the main selection.

  • We will continue working with this selection this coming week.

  • The comprehension and vocabulary quiz will be on Wednesday, December 16th.


Math:

  • We learned how to solve and write number stories involving equal groups.
  • Additionally, we learned how to create arrays and use multiplication/division diagrams to assist in solving problems.
  • Finally, we began division. Students learned how to create equal groups and how to note reminders.


Writing:

  • We finished publishing our writing on Google Slides. So far the writing sounds wonderful! We will be planning a celebration soon.

  • Upcoming in Writing: The next unit of study is Informational Writing. In an effort to help students prepare for this unit, please start brainstorming/discussing with your child about something he/she knows a lot about. They can check out books at the school or public library, watch videos, surf the internet (with your approval) to find out more information about their topic. Mrs. Miller is aware of the upcoming unit and will start pulling books, but I wanted you to be aware since things become busy around the holidays!


Word Study

  • The next Word Study Assessment will be on Wednesday, December 16th (Day 6).


Science:

  • Our Plant Unit has come to a close and we have officially harvested our seeds. Students came home with the seeds and can plant the Wisconsin Fast Plants at home! The seeds are in a Central Elementary envelope. :-)


Conferences:

  • We wrapped up our reflections and began practicing for Student Lead Conferences.


Grammar:

  • We reviewed synonyms.

Reminders

Conferences: Please click the link to sign up for a conference if you have not done so already.


Absences/Late: Always include csattendanceoffice@haddonfield.k12.nj.us on all emails regarding absence, early dismissal or late arrival. This email is checked frequently throughout the day.


Vocabulary: Vocabulary for each story in Journeys can be found on my eBoard under the Language Arts tab. The red tabs are sectioned by lesson (example: L1 is Lesson 1 etc.). Vocabulary can also be found in the Journeys textbook or online textbook (before the reading selection).


Strings Make Up Work: Please keep in mind that your child will be missing instructional time when he or she attends strings. Any work that he or she miss will be expected to be made up.


Birthdays: If your child would like to celebrate his/her birthday, please contact me so we can set up a date to celebrate! See my eBoard for more details.


Student Logins: If students forget their Journeys Textbook click this link for the website. Students have logins and passwords in the front of their Agendas. EDM Home Links can be accessed on the website. The login information is also in the front of your child's planner book. My eBoard has additional information on logging in under the Language Arts and Math tabs.

Check This Out!

1.Typing Agent: **This is a GREAT tool to help your child with his/her typing skills!

  • The link can be found on my eBoard under the PARCC/Teach tab.


2. Multiplication


3. Inferencing


4. Moby Max: This is a great enrichment tool for Math and Language Arts. Your child's login is in the front of his/her planner. Students should have a good idea of how to log into this program.

Student Council Activities

Please help us support Student Council by participating in the newest activity.

HOLIDAY TOY DRIVE

What do we need??

NEW, unwrapped toys for kids.

Especially, legos, Star Wars, barbies, dolls or sports equipment!

Our goal is for every student in Central School to bring in one toy!

Anything more is GREATLY appreciated!!

We will be collecting toys from

December 1st through December 18th!

Toys will be donated to local families who are in need of some extra special cheer over the holidays.

Student Council representatives will come around on Tuesday and Thursday mornings to collect any toys that have been donated. Please TRY to remember the less fortunate during this holiday season.

Thank you from the Student Council!!

Room Mom Information

None at this time.

Central Events: November and December

Central Events: December


Tuesday, December 15

  • 3:30 pm Report Cards Available Online Grades 1-5


Wednesday, December 16

  • 1/2 day students,dismissal 12:30
  • PM Parent Teacher Conferences *Please note my times are slightly different than other teachers.


Thursday, December 17

  • Evening Parent Teacher Conferences


Friday, December 18

  • AM Parent Teacher Conferences
  • K-8 School Closed


Monday, December 21

  • 1/2 day students dismissed at 12:30
  • Evening Parent Teacher Conferences


Wednesday, December 23

  • 8:00 am Student Half Day Dismissal 12:30


Thursday, December 24

  • Christmas Eve
  • 8:20 am Winter Recess


Friday, December 25

  • Winter Recess Christmas Day


Saturday, December 26

  • Winter Recess
  • Day After Christmas Day


Sunday, December 27

  • Winter Recess


Monday, December 28

  • Winter Recess


Tuesday, December 29

  • Winter Recess


Wednesday, December 30

  • Winter Recess


Thursday, December 31

  • Winter Recess
  • New Year's Eve

Specials This Week

Monday is a Day 4:
  • Spanish and Strings

Tuesday is a Day 5:
  • Library


Wednesday is a Day 6:

  • Art


Thursday is a Day 1:

  • Spanish and Gym

Guest Read Aloud Schedule

October:

  • Jennifer Cittadini Wednesday, October 14 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Beth Wassall Wednesday, October 21 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Nicole Ventrella Tuesday, October 27 @ 2:40 (completed)


November:

  • Emmie Goldenbaum-Cook Thursday, November 12 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Mia Levine or Eric Huebl: Friday, November 20 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Jennifer Barker Monday, November 23 @ 2:40 (completed)


December:

  • Stefanie Kist: Wednesday, December 2 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Dana Mower: Monday, December 7 @ 2:40 (completed)


January:

  • Jeff Tucker Tuesday, January 5 @ 2:40
  • Susan Gordon: Tuesday, January 12 @ 2:40
  • Jennifer Grega : Friday, January 22 @ 2:40


February:

  • Robin Landis: Friday, February 5 @ 2:40
  • Dori Shields: Monday, February 22 @2:40
  • Barbara Cavacini: Thursday, February 25 @ 2:40


March:

  • Heather Tucker: Friday, March 4 @ 2:40
  • Debbie Wolschina: Friday, March 11 @ 2:40
  • Shannon Simkus: Tuesday, March 29 @ 2:40


April:

  • Sara Blackburn: Tuesday, April 5 @ 2:40
  • Sharon Dominco: Wednesday, April 13 @ 2:40


May:

  • Mary Beth Smith: Tuesday,May 10 @ 2:40


June:

  • Carol Cox: Friday, June 10 @ 2:40

Star of the Week Schedule

Student and Date:

1. Natalie Sept. 28-Oct.2 (completed)

2. Diego October 5-9 (completed)

3. Katie October 12-16 (completed)

4. Isaiah October 26-30 (completed)

5. Blair November 9-13 (completed)

6. Caden November 16-20 (completed)

7. Nathan November 30-Dec. 4 (completed)

8. Eliza January 4-8

9. Caroline January 11-15

10. Bryson January 25-29

11. Vienna February 1-5

12. Luca February 8-12

13. Dayne February 22-26

14. Libby February 29-Mar.4

15. Derrick March 7-11

16. Lindsey March 14-18

17. Diana March 29- April 1

18. Molly April 4-8

19. Liam April 11-15

20. Elena April 25-29

21. William May 2-6

22. Joey May 16-20

23. Christopher June 6-10

Poet of the Week Schedule

Student and Date:

1. Libby Friday, October 2 (completed)

2. Liam Friday, October 9 (completed)

3. Diana Friday, October 16 (completed)

4. Vienna Friday, October 30 (completed)

5. Lindsey Friday, November 13 (completed)

6. Derrick Friday, November 20

7. Molly Friday, December 4 (completed)

8. Elena Friday, December 11

9. Natalie Friday, January 8

10. Joey Friday, January 15

11. William Friday, January 29

12. Isaiah Friday, February 12

13. Katie Friday, February 19

14. Christopher Friday, February 26

15. Blair Friday, March 4

16. Diego Friday, March 18

17. Caden Friday, April 1

18. Nathan Friday, April 15

19. Eliza Friday, May 6

20. Caroline Friday, May 13

21. Bryson Friday, May 27

22. Luca Friday, June 3

23. Dayne Friday, June 10