The Rock Cycle

By: Sawyer Drye and Jared Craig

What is the Rock cycle?

The rock cycle is a non-stop process in which rocks continuously change from one form to the next over a period of time. The three types of rocks are igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic.

How it works:

Igneous rock can become sedimentary rock because it is weathered into sediment which will later bond together to become sedimentary rock. That sedimentary rock will over time, under intense pressure and heat, become hardened into metamorphic rock. This metamorphic rock can eventually melt down into magma and once a volcano erupts, the lava spewed out will cool and become igneous rock once again. Another thing metamorphic rock could do is become weathered into sediment and become sedimentary rock again.

The three types of rocks: