Lynx MS News

AIS West - January 2022

Hello AIS West Middle School Community,


Welcome to December! It's hard to believe that we are almost ready for the winter break and the end of Semester 1. Please note that there is no school tomorrow for teacher professional development.


I want to take a moment to thank each and every one of you for your partnership with us throughout this challenging first semester. I am happy to share with you that negative behaviors seem to be taking a turn for the better. From October to November we had a 22% decrease in unexpected behaviors. We attribute this to our restorative conversations, swift and consistent consequences and your partnership at home. By backing up our policies we are uniting together as we transition out of the pandemic and back to normalcy. Please accept our deepest gratitude. Let's keep this up in December and beyond.


We are wrapping up the term strong with culminating activities (see details for all classes below) and our Arts Week the week of December 12. We will have student performances daily, a Middle School Variety Show and an art exhibition. We will be sharing photos on our Instagram and videos through our YouTube page. See links below.


As you may have heard in the news, the Ministry of Health is now vaccinating children age 12 and up. You can register at the MOH website and get an appointment at Zayed Specialized Hospital very quickly.


We hope to connect with you through our Virtual Parent Coffee Talk next Wednesday morning. If we don't see you in the coming weeks we wish you a safe, relaxing Winter Break.


Your partners in education,

Chelsea Armstrong

Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Mathias Sanders

Assistant Principal

msanders@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Important Dates

December 2

Teacher Professional Development Day - No School for Students


December 9

Virtual Parent Coffee Meeting


December 12 - 16

Arts Week!


December 21

Last Day of Term 2/Semester 1


December 22 - January 8

Winter Break


January 9

Term 3/Semester 2 Begins

*Student and Teacher of the Month* Balanced

Big picture

Student of the Month - Taya Khafagi

Taya was selected by her teachers because she embodies the BALANCED IB Learner Profile Attribute. Taya always knows how to keep a balance between everything she does. She also knows not only to help herself, but others as well.

Teacher of the Month --- Sophie Sewailem

Ms. Sophie is an inspiration to everyone in the middle school. She is victorious in triathlons, an incredible mother and a talented teacher. Congrats to Sophie for keeping her life in balance!!

Counselor's Corner

A fresh new term means a new start for all of us. Students have already started new electives and have the chance to apply for elective changes up until January 17th. The parent workshop will be on January 29th; the topic will be about screen time. Hope to see you all there!


Angela Fushtey

afushtey@aiswest.com

Secondary School Library News!

Christmas has come early. The Secondary School library book order has arrived! We have almost 1,000 new titles that are being added to our AIS West Secondary School library collection. There are so many interesting books from cookbooks, to Makerspace, to more Harry Potter, travel books and more. The books are being processed and as soon as they are ready, we will share them with you!

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Sara Affify - saffify@aiswest.com

We are building background knowledge to get ready for our next novel Zarah the Windseeker. We are learning about the steps in a Hero's Journey in both novels and film and learning more about the culture of the Author Nnedi Okorafor who uses elements of Nigerian myths and folklore in her work.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Students will explore "Land Use conflict in the Amazon Rainforest". They will answer the question, "How should the resources of rainforests be used and preserved?"

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

Students will research concepts of areas of rectangles and triangles and surface areas of regular prisms.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Amanda Kerschen- akerschen@aiswest.com

This month in science students will explore how various landforms are created from the force of nature. Students will be able to explain how wind, water, ice, and temperature have shaped our planet over time.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: درس " الحياة دائمًا اثنان" قراءة. / درس "الحرية و المسئولية " نصوص. / درس "الأسماء الخمسة " نحو. / الفصل الخامس - قصة علي مبارك.

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (الترويح عن النفس ) النحو ( مراجعة علي الضمائر ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة النملة). الإملاء ( التنوين بالضم والكسر )

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 6, students will learn French greetings, introducing themselves and introduction to basic grammar. In our culture section, we will begin to learn about the French speaking world.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Welcome new students and we will learn the norms, expectations and class rules & through learning the history of the language, decide if Spanish is a language worth learning

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

n Drama 6, students will be introduced to the expectations of this class and to key concepts of physical and vocal expressions through drama games.

Robotics 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Welcome new students! During this month we will learn the norms, expectations and rules of our classroom & how to program robots with openRoberta Lab.

Physical Education 6 - Anders Nordquist, Marty Perry, Katrina Wards anordquist@aiswest.com, mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com

Students will test their current health related fitness levels and set fitness goals that they wish to achieve by the end of the fitness unit. Students will also create a fitness plan that they can implement to help them to achieve their goals.

Art 6 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

welcome new students, We will discuss the class room expectations and also they will make elements of art booklet they will learn about lines, shapes, value, texture, form and space.

Dance 6 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning the dance foundations, class expectations and rules.

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Sara Affify and Amira Nabhan - saffify@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month, students will start a new novel. Students will read The Breadwinner and analyze as well as draw inferences from the text, while following the main character and the challenges she faces.

Math 7 - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

We are currently exploring ratios and proportions and finding out how to use them in real life problem solving situations.

Science 7 - Amanda Kerschen & Holly Holst akerschen@aiswest.com, hholst@aiswest.com

Students are starting Unit 4, which is entitles "Earth's Processes Through Geologic Time". They will be exploring the concepts of plate tectonics, the geologic time scale, and fossils. We will be completing at least one fun lab to help illustrate place tectonics.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

This month, students are exploring the geography of Ancient India. Students will create a magazine cover displaying artifacts from the ancient city of Mohenjo-Daro.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will practice gender and number agreement in adjectives and nouns, to describe what one and others like to do.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud and Ahmed Khattab - smahmoud@aiswest.com, akhattab@aiswest.com

القواعد:أسلوب الشرط /النصوص: تواضع سيدنا عمر / كتابة موضوع عن التواضع والعدل وتطبيق مبدأ الشورى / الفصل التاسع والعاشرمن قصة عقبة

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama 7, students will be introduced to the expectations of this class, key concepts of physical and vocal expressions through drama games and to the five elements of Drama.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

We are reviewing grammar from the previous term then students will start a new chapter on how to ask about likes or dislikes, agree and disagree, ask how often you do an activity, ask how well you do something and ask about preferences. In our géoculture section, students will explore Île de France.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (أبو قير وأبو صير) النحو (المثني وجمع المذكر ) تحدث واستماع

(الأميرة المتوهجة) الإملاء ( علامات التعجب والاستفهام )

Art 7 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

welcome new Students and read the classroom expections rules, then will make elements of art poster they will include all the elements of art in one poster using color pencil and markers to color it.

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning the dance foundations, class expectations and rules.

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

Students will test their current health related fitness levels and set fitness goals that they wish to achieve by the end of the fitness unit. Students will also create a fitness plan that they can implement to help them to achieve their goals.

Video Games 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Welcome to videogames design! This month students will be learning what is the MDA framework and how it is used to design videogames.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Amira Nabhan and Stacy Pape - spape@aiswest.com

This month, students will start a new novel. Students will read I am Malala and analyze as well as draw inferences from the text, while following the main character and the challenges she faces.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Sophie Sewailem -aelsherif@aiswest.com, ssewailem@aiswest.com

This term we are expanding our knowledge of co-ordinate geometry and relating it to equations of a line. We will learn about gradient and different methods to graph a line.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Stacy Pape - spape@aiswest.com

This month, the students will be learning about the dawn of Humanism and the amazing period known as the Italian Renaissance. Within this unit, the students will be doing projects on Italian City States and Renaissance Art.

Science 8 - Holly Holst and Kimberly Walker -hholst@aiswest.com, kwalker@aiswest.com

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will review the material seen last semester to wrap up the lesson, and start a new unit on how to go shopping in Spanish.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist and Iman Elarfaaoui- enordquist@aiswest.com, ielarfaaoui@aiswest.com

Students will continue learning on how to ask how often you do an activity, ask how well they do something and ask about preferences. In grammar, students will learn the conjunctions. In géoculture, we will explore Québec.

Coding 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Welcome to coding! This month student will be learning what Algorithms are and how to use them in Processing to create simple programs.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (الكنز قبل ان يضيع) النحو (أركان الجملة الاسمية والجملة الفعلية) تحدث واستماع

(قصة الغازلات الثلاثة) الإملاء ( همزة القطع )

Arabic 8 -Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

مراجعة على ما تمت دراسته من أجل الاستعداد للامتحان - بعد الانتهاء من الامتحان نبدأ بشرح الدروس التالية: الكنز قبل أن يضيع - الخلق كنز لايفنى - التمييز

Art 8 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

Welcome new students in art class we will start with some worm up exercise for elements of art sheets we will be concentrate on line, value, shapes, color, texture we will study also color theory.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning the dance foundations, class expectations and rules.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama 8, students will be introduced to expectations of this class, key concepts of physical and vocal expressions though drama games and to the 5 elements of Drama.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

Students will test their current health related fitness levels and set fitness goals that they wish to achieve by the end of the fitness unit. Students will also create a fitness plan that they can implement to help them to achieve their goals.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool