December 22nd Jefferson Journal

Check out our Holiday Video

Newsletter Dec

Upcoming Events

December 23rd- January 2nd: Winter Break NO SCHOOL

January 6th: 4th Grade to the School Forest

January 10th: PTO Meeting

January 18: 3rd Grade trip to Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum

January 25: Conferences and Book Fair

January 27th: Conferences and Book Fair

January 28th: School Assembly


Kaum Ob Hli 23 - Ib Hli 2: Su TSI MUAJ KAWM NTAWV

Ib Hli 6: Qaib 4 Moog tom School Forest

Ib Hli 10: Nam Txiv Nai Khu Muaj Saablaaj

Ib Hli 18: Qaib 3 Moog tom Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum

Ib Hli 25: Nam Txiv Tuaj Ntsib Nai Khu hab muaj Book Fair

Ib Hli 27: Nam Txiv Tuaj Ntsib Nai Khu hab muaj Book Fair

Ib Hli 28: Mivnyuas hab Nai Khu Muaj Sib Sau ua Ke


Remember to check out the Thomas Jefferson School calendar on the website to view what is going on at the school. The button below will take you to the calendar.

Big picture

Snow day Virtual Learning protocols and information

What are the benefits of a Virtual Learning Day?

The biggest benefit of Virtual Learning Days is the continuation of learning and student achievement. This type of instructional delivery provides students the ability to interact with instructional content to develop and deepen understanding. A Virtual Learning Day also provides students needed exposure to a critical aspect of being considered College and Career ready, the ability to independently complete activities while leveraging available technologies. Additionally, Virtual Learning Days allow for a predictable school calendar as the need for added minutes or days is greatly decreased as inclement weather days will be counted as instructional days.

When can a Virtual Learning Day take place?

A Virtual Learning Day can occur anytime during the school year and can be used to continue student learning on days when it is not possible to be in the physical school building due to inclement weather, widespread illness, flooding, power outages, or other factors which would result in the closing of a school building.

How does a Virtual Learning Day work?

Students will follow a flexible schedule as directed by their teachers. This will include a combination of live instruction via Google Meet and independent/self-paced learning activities throughout the day. Staff will ensure students understand learning objectives, supporting activities, and the requirements for completion.

What if a student does not have access to a device at home?

All Wausau School District students (K-12) are issued either an iPad or Chromebook as a tool to use when interacting with instruction. In preparation for a virtual learning day, all students will be expected to bring their District issued device home for the purpose of completing work assigned.

What if a student does not have access to the internet at home?

If a family does not have internet access at home, a district issued hot spot can be issued from your school librarian. Please contact your child’s teacher for more information.

What will a virtual school day look like?

Student Guidelines

  • Grades K-5: Join a live Google Meet at times pre-established by your teacher.

(One in the morning, one in the afternoon)

  • PreK-2 - Up to 60 minutes of student engagement in independent/self paced activities

  • Grades 3-5 - Up to 2 hours of student engagement in independent/self paced activities

  • Grades 6-12: Follow your regular class schedule by logging into the Google Meet for each class at the beginning of each period.

  • All Grades: Use itsLearning and SeeSaw to engage in independent/self-paced learning activities as directed by your teacher.

  • All Grades: Communicate with teachers and peers, including asking questions and seeking support as needed.


We value and appreciate your support and investment in Virtual Learning Days!

Big picture

Holiday Reading Time Together

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

PTO Information

Next Meeting January 10th 5:30pm in the Library

Please check out these opportunities to help out with the PTO!!

1.) Please fill out your background check so you can volunteer: Volunteer

2.) Follow on Facebook: Thomas Jefferson Jaguars PTO

PTO Inkjet, Laser Cartridges and old Cell Phone Collection

Big picture
Please click on the buttons below to see the list of cartridges accepted. If you have any questions please send an email to thomas.jeffersonpto.2019@gmail.com

Leader In Me

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Wausau School District Gifted and Talented Nomination Process

Nominations are now being accepted from parents and teachers of second through fifth grade students in need of gifted and talented evaluations. Parents and teachers are welcome to nominate students who are currently achieving at a high level in mathematics and/or reading, approximately at the top 5% of the class. Please note, students cannot be tested in consecutive years. Teachers have already nominated some students for these evaluations. If you have already completed a Permission to Evaluate for Gifted and Talented Identification Form, no further steps need to be taken. Students who are already identified as gifted and talented do not need to be reevaluated.


Parents whose second through fifth grade child has not been previously nominated as gifted and talented and who feel that they have a high achieving child may pick up a Permission to Evaluate for Gifted and Talented Identification Form with the Parent Inventory Form on the back from the school office. Nominations from parents are due by January 14, 2022.


When the completed parent forms are returned to the school office, each student will be scheduled for several assessments. These will be done sometime during the school day. These assessments, along with other test data, will provide the district with a student profile. This profile will help determine whether or not a child meets the District’s guidelines for gifted and talented identification. The assessment review is expected to be completed in May and the results will be shared before the end of the school year.


The Wausau School District recognizes that appropriate instructional challenge is needed for all students regardless of ability. The GT identification process is one way to help us provide for the educational needs of high ability students. Should you need further information, please contact your building’s GT Learning Resource Teacher or Tammy Steckbauer, Coordinator for Gifted and Talented, at 715-261-0220.

*****************************************************************************************************

COVID-19 Testing in the Wausau School District

The Wausau School District is offering free PCR COVID-19 testing to all students, staff, and even the immediate family members of students and staff.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO KNOW

  • When? While testing began Monday, November 1, 2021, two mobile units will be available for COVID-19 testing starting Monday, November 8, 2021. The schedules for those units are below.
  • Who is eligible for testing? All Wausau School District students, their immediate family members, District staff, along with their immediate family members, who are either symptomatic for COVID-19 or close contacts of someone who has tested positive for COVID-19.
  • What does the testing cost? Nothing. It will cost nothing to receive a COVID-19 PCR test. It is being paid for by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS).
  • Will the Wausau School District test my child(ren) without my consent? Absolutely not. No student will ever be tested for COVID-19 without the consent of a parent/guardian.
  • Who is doing the testing? The staff from COVID CLINIC is administering the COVID-19 PCR tests. They're provided to the District through DHS.
  • If I'm a staff member, student, or immediate family member of a staff member or student, how do I obtain a test?
    • For students: Parents have a couple of options for their child(ren). Parents can fill out a consent form below and drop it off at their child(ren)'s school. Parents could also bring their child(ren) to the mobile units for testing. There, they will be able to register their child(ren) for testing, or they could pre-register them at the link below.
    • For staff and immediate family members: Staff members and/or immediate family members can either pre-register at the link below, or they can show up to the mobile units to register.
  • What kind of COVID-19 testing do the mobile units do? The mobile units do both antigen and PCR testing. However, the Wausau School District only accepts a negative PCR test on a student with symptoms.

  • How long will it take to get results back on a PCR testing? The time is very dependent on the volume of tests the lab is processing. Right now, ( as of November5, 2021) it's taking 2-3 days to get results. If a patient does not see their results within 36 hours, they are being asked to reach out to DHS. Here's the contact information. Please note this is only for PCR results.

    Email: WICOVIDResult@wisconsin.gov
    Phone: (866) 419-6988, 8 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday to Friday

  • Is any of this paid for by the District? No. The Wisconsin Department of Health Services is paying for the mobile units and to staff them, along with, paying for all of the testing.

Big picture

Returning back to school from Quarantine

If your student has been Quarantined because of being ill and they received a negative PCR Covid test or alternate medical diagnosis from a medical practitioner, please send test results and any medical documentation to our Health Aide, Megan Bach, at mbach@wausauschools.org . Please contact Megan and send the test results and medical documentation BEFORE sending your student back to school. Any questions, please email Megan and/or call the Health Office at 715-261-0186.

Thank you so much!!

Link to WSD Covid Dashboard, Elementary and Secondary Matrices

As we enter the 2021-22 school year, the Wausau School District is offering the highest quality educational experience for students. We are taking several steps to monitor and mitigate the spread of COVID. We are also taking steps to minimize the time lost to quarantines.

We are working with the Marathon County Health Department to monitor and mitigate the spread of the virus in our community and our schools and will revisit our protocols as necessary at any point during the school year. Public health is a whole community effort and the District can not be successful on our own. Below are some practices that families can take, as well as, the school district.

Wausau School District COVID-19 Information

COVID-19 DASHBOARD COVID-19 GUIDELINES COVID-19 MITIGATION STRATEGIES UPDATE

Big picture

"We're Better Together"

Big picture

Staff Directory

Principal Mr. Johnson bsjohnson@wausauschools.org

Secretary Mrs. Tammy Steckling tsteckling@wausauschools.org

Building/ Office para Mrs. Colette Tranchita ctranchita@wausauschools.org


Health Aid:

Ms. Megan Bach- mbach@wausauschools.org


Pupil Services

Counselor: Ms. Sue Doerr sdoerr@waususchools.org

Social worker: Mrs. Morgan Knetter mknetter@wausauschools.org

Psychologist: Mrs. Amanda Melville amelvill@wausauschools.org

Bridge Room Coordinator: Ms. Amber Sparby asparby@wausauschools.org


4K Staff

Mrs. Amber Channel achannel@wausauschools.org

Ms. Samantha Kniess skniess@wausauschools.org

Mrs. BreAnne Wais bwais@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Renee Krautkramer rkrautkr@wausauschools.org

Mrs. May Xiong maxiong@wausauschools.org


Kindergarten Teachers

Mrs. April Voigt avoigt@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kelly Hummel khummel@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Katelyn Veith. kveith@wausauschools.org


1st Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diana Gartzke dgartzke@wausauschools.org

Mrs Deb Treager dtreager@wausauschools.org

Mr. Matt Schilling mschilling@wausauschools.org


2nd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diane Eder deder@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Carrie Helke cahelke@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Taylor Frank tfrank@wausauschools.org


3rd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jill Ebersold jebersol@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Sandy Knoll sknoll@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Heather Trollop htrollop@wausauschools.org


4th Grade Teachers

Mrs. Leslie Ninnemann lninnema@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kary Riggs kriggs@wausauschools.org


5the Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jen Davidson jdavidso@wausauschools.org

Ms. Emily Fritz efritz@wausauschools.org


Encore Team

Art- Jennifer Lingford jlingford@wausauschools.org

Gym- Christin Sullivan csulliv@wausauschools.org

Science- Tori Dienger vdienger@wausauschools.org

Music- Sana Wressell swressel@wausauschools.org

Library- Jennifer Moore jmoore@wausauschools.org


Special Education

Mrs. Justine Callahan jcallahan@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kim Ickert kickert@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Jennifer Faust jfaust@wausauschools.org


Gifted & Talented

Mrs. Cheryl Borta- cborta@wausauschools.org


EL

Mrs. Paokee Xiong. paxiong@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Lisa Alexander lalexand@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Halle Veenstra- hveenstr@wausauschools.org


Title I

Mrs. Amy Akey- aabitzak@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Trenny Frahm- tfrahm@wausauschools.org


Speech

Mrs. Michelle Debot mdebot@wausauschools.org


Translation support

Mrs. Eileen Thao ethao@wausauschools.org

The Wausau School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, sex (including transgender status, change of sex or gender identity), or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability (“Protected Classes”).