Federal Court Systems

by: DeNaja Powell

Different Levels

District Courts

Circuit Courts

Supreme Courts


  • District Courts- decide questions of law
  • Circuit Courts- hears challenges to district court decisions from courts
  • Supreme Courts- explaining and interpreting the constitution

Types of Jurisdiction

Exclusive, Concurrent, Original, and Appellate

  • Exclusive-those case that can only be heard in the federal courts
  • Concurrent-states and Federal Courts share power to hear cases
  • Original-a court in which a case is first heard
  • Appellate-a court that hears a case on appeal from a lower court

For More information.....

Go to google.com and type Federal Court Systems.