Norman High News

Week: August 15, 2022

Upcoming Events

8/15 - PD starts in the Theater tomorrow at 8:30 with Norman North

8/16 - WEAR NHS gear!

8/19 - First Day of School

8/23 - OPEN house

9/1 - Crosstown Clash

9/2 and 9/5 - NO School

PSAT / NMSQT Copies

Here is the form for a legal copy of the PSAT/NMSQT test that you can take actual questions and experience what our students have to do on the PSAT or SAT. You can only request sections that pertain to your curriculum area. You will be emailed the answers with explanations. https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeOREeNwMpLPvBhs4H4E9Bvz0FdGcN2TeRWsMqUklGqDDCHwA/viewform

Connection Issues ?

Connections issues still happening (all but m1) - M1 bring to site tech or TSC.


Log in to the device, leave it open, and on wifi for 1/2 a day - If you restart without the reboot icon the installation will stop and won't resume.


or Bring it to an open district site (NHS, IMS, ASC, or TSC) and someone will help you


or Take these steps at home:

  1. Download this update here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HxYJhWlMtfP9YBXuZoeNvXejoMcidPPH/view?ts=62b096e1. You will need to use another device (such as USB or another Apple device you can airdrop) to get this file since the current device won't go on the internet.

  2. You will be asked if you are sure you want to download and you do :-)

  3. Once it downloads you will open it from the browser or the downloads folder

  4. a folder will open. Double click on SmartAgent.pkg

  5. you will get a popup about untrusted items. click ok. Then go to system preferences, security and privacy. at the bottom of that dialog box under the general tab it will ask if you want to open the app, click open anyway. Then on the next screen click Open.

  6. an installer will run - click through the positive answers to get that installed

  7. you will be prompted to enter your computer password. Go ahead and do that.

  8. after install finishes you will be asked again to confirm allowing lightspeed to run. click on that and enter password when requested.

  9. Restart the device!

Absences during staff development and work days

Please enter your absences if you miss part or all of a staff development and/or a work day. If you forget, visit with Justice in the main office.

Classes and Schedules

Don't stress just yet! Counselors are still moving students and making changes to schedules.

NHS PTA Board

The following individual will serve on the 2022-2023 PTA Board
President: Mike Charboneau
Vice-president: Denise Sober
Secretary: Stephanie O’Hara
Treasurer: Annaly Beck

PTA is such an important component of our school. I encourage you to join!

Evaluation Timeline

Your professional learning focus is due October 21. Please take a look at these two documents for more information on evaluations including a timeline for observations.


https://sites.google.com/a/norman.k12.ok.us/marzano-and-teacher-evaluation/home


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1iwPXfKaKi5jkkavWkPjccAnvVtKND7Nb/view

Big picture
NHS PTA

https://app.memberhub.gives/nhstigers

Who to contact:

When contacting your Attendance Secretary, please check to make sure you have the correct information. You can email them or call them directly regarding attendance. If you leave a message, please be patient, they will get to your voicemail.


FRESHMAN (9TH) SUPPORT
Freshman Principal: Nadia DeKoch nadiad@normanps.org
Attendance Secretary: TBD


Freshman Counselors:
9th Grade (A-K) - Sara Root sroot@normanps.org
9th Grade (L-Z) - Andrea Anthony aanthony@normanps.org

UPPER CLASS (10TH-12TH) SUPPORT
Assistant Principals:
(A-G) Ms. Barbara Rose brose@normanps.org
(H-P) Dr. Evelyn Kwanza ekwanza@normanps.org
(Q-Z) Mr. Greg Willis gwillis@normanps.org


Attendance Secretaries:


(please call according to your student’s last name)
(A-D) - Christy Carter - TBD

(E-L) - Jennifer McMillen jmcmillen@normanps.org

(M-R) - Tiffani Cox tiffanic@normanps.org

(S-Z) - Lisa Sipe lsipe2@normanps.org

Counselors
(please ask for counselor according to student’s last name and grade)
(A-D) Kelly Storm stormk@normanps.org
(E-L) Deana Edgar dedgar@normanps.org

(M-R) Jensen Zearley jzearley@normanps.org
(S-Z) Katie Dickerson kcortest@normanps.org
Testing Coordinator: Kelly Storm stormk@normanps.org

Student Advocate: Melanie Baer mbaer@normanps.org


OFFICE SUPPORT
Receptionist: CC Espinosa cespinosa@normanps.org
Registrar: Celina Quiros cquiros@normanps.org

AP Testing/Community Liaison: Brenda Wilkins bwilkins@normanps.org
Financial Secretary: Heather Summerville hsummerville@normanps.org
Athletics Secretary: Ashley Frazier ashleyf@normanps.org


NHS Help Desk: Randee Wilkinson 405-366-0561 randeew@normanps.org

Head Principal: Mrs. Hallie Wright halliew@normanps.org
Principal’s Secretary: Justice Bundy jbundy@normanps.org

SAFETY COMMITTEE

We are going to talk a LOT about safety this year! It's one of our #1 priorities. If you would like to be a part of our Tiger Safety Team, please email Greg Willis at gwillis@normanps.org. Once we get all members on board, he will schedule days and times for meetings.

Required GCN training

There is one GCN training due by August 19. The remainder are due before October 1.


Click on the Link Below

https://site.gcntraining.com

EMERGENCY CONTACT FORM

GRANT APPLICATIONS


The Norman Public School Foundation is now accepting grant applications, which are due Tuesday, Sept. 13 by 5 p.m. Successful grant applications will focus on instructional resources, opportunities or experiences that directly impact students.


To support more teachers, reach more students and provide materials in classrooms more quickly, several adjustments have been made to the Foundation’s grant process:


  • GRANT CYCLE: To provide resources to teachers and students more quickly, fall and spring grant cycles have been combined. Grants will be awarded each year in the fall.


  • CLASSROOM GRANTS: For the first time, the classroom grant cap has been increased to $1,500 per grant. To allow more teachers to benefit from the program, each teacher may submit one classroom grant application.


  • TEAM GRANTS: Separately, teachers may now apply for team grants, which are capped at $3,000 per grant. Teachers who apply for a classroom grant may also be part of one team grant. Site administrators may also participate in team grants. Teams should not submit multiple applications, as only one application per team will be considered.


  • APPLICATIONS: Applications have been streamlined and are now easier than ever to complete! Please note the team grant application is separate from the classroom grant application. When applying, select the form that corresponds with your request (classroom grant or team grant).


  • TIPS AND TRICKS: Clearly state what you are requesting, why it is important and how it will directly benefit students and enhance their learning experience. Grants that engage students in their learning while promoting innovation, creativity and collaboration are generally preferred by grant evaluators. Remember, applications are reviewed by community volunteers and should *not* include references to educational jargon or state standards.


The application is short and easy to complete; click here to submit a request today!


For more information, visit www.npsfok.org or contact Alesha Leemaster at aleshaleemaster@npsfok.org or Hope Smith at hopesmith@npsfok.org.

Big picture

Tell your friends about VIP packages

Big picture