Chapter 29 Project

Kelsie Pierson

Consumer Bill of Rights

1) The right to safety: To be protected against the marketing of products and services that are hazardous to health or to life.

2) The right to be informed: To be protected against fraudulent, deceitful, or grossly misleading information, advertising, labeling, or other practices, and to be given the facts needed to make informed choices.

3) The right to choose: To have available a variety of products and services at competitive prices

4) The right to be heard: To be assured that consumer interests will receive full and sympathetic consideration in making government policy, both through the laws passed by legislatures and through regulations passed by administrative bodies.

5) The right to education: To have access to programs and information that help consumers make better marketplace decisions.

6) The right to redress: To work with established mechanisms to have problems corrected and to receive compensation for poor service or for products which do not function properly.

Patient's Bill of Rights

1) Information Disclosure: Patients have the right to receive accurate, easily understood information to make health care decisions.

2) Choice of Providers: Have the right to choose their own doctors and health care providers.

3) Access to Emergency Services: Have the right to access health care services how and where the need arises.

4) Treatment Decisions: Have the right to fully participate in all decisions related to their health care.

5) Respect and Nondiscrimination: Consumers have the right to considerate, respectful care from all members of the health care system.

6) Confidentiality: Have the right to have the confidentiality of their health care information protected.

Protection Laws

1) Food,Drug, and Cosmetic Act: Requires that food be safe, put, and wholesome. That drugs and medical devises be safe and effective.

2) Flammable Fabrics Act: Sets flammability standards for clothing.

3) Meat Inspection Laws: Requires poultry to be inspected for harmful contaminants.

Federal Agencies

1) United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)- Inspects food to ensure wholesomeness and truthful labeling.

2) Food and Drug Administration (FDA)- Enforces laws and regulations preventing distribution of mislabeled foods, drugs, cosmetics, and medical devices.

3) Consumer Product Safety Commision (CPSC)- Protects consumers from unreasonable risk of injury or death from potentially hazardous consumer products.

Big image