Picture Books

April 2019

Dress Like a Girl

A playful and fashionable slumber party takes an empowering turn in this gorgeous picture book, perfect for fans of Princesses Wear Pants and Rosie Revere, Engineer!


In these beautifully illustrated pages, a diverse cast of slumber party participants considers the most time-honored traditions for how to dress. If a lady should wear white in summertime, then how about donning a spacesuit? If team colors are apropos at sporting events, why not wear helmets and play ball?


Uplifting and resonant, and with a variety of interests ranging from sports to science to politics, this book is sure to inspire any young girl, instilling the idea that the best way to dress like a girl is the way that makes you feel most like YOU!


What does it mean to dress like a girl?

Many will tell you in this big, wide world

that there are strict rules that must be addressed,

rules you will need when looking your best.

But when you are given these rules to obey,

the secret is heeding them—in your own way.

The Good Egg

From the bestselling creators of The Bad Seed, a timely story about not having to be Grade A perfect!


Meet the good egg. He’s a verrrrrry good egg indeed.


But trying to be so good is hard when everyone else is plain ol’ rotten.


As the other eggs in the dozen behave badly, the good egg starts to crack from all the pressure of feeling like he has to be perfect.


So, he decides enough is enough! It’s time for him to make a change…


Dynamic duo Jory John and Pete Oswald hatch a funny and charming story that reminds us of the importance of balance, self-care, and accepting those who we love (even if they are sometimes a bit rotten).


Perfect for reading aloud and shared story time!

Ten Rules of the Birthday Wish

A joyful picture book that celebrates every kid's favorite day of the year, full of adorable art from the illustrator of Goodnight Goodnight Construction Site and I Wish You More.

The most important rule is #1: It must be your birthday.

After that's been established, a crew of hilarious animals help picture book pros Tom Lichtenheld and Beth Ferry take readers through a joyous romp that covers the most important elements of every year's most essential holiday, including singing; closing your eyes and making a wish; blowing out candles on a cake, then settling into bed and dreaming of your wish coming true.

Say Something

From the bestselling creator of The Word Collector comes an empowering story about finding your voice, and using it to make the world a better place.


The world needs your voice.
If you have a brilliant idea . . . say something!
If you see an injustice . . . say something!


In this empowering new picture book, renowned author Peter H. Reynolds explores the many ways that a single voice can make a difference. Each of us, each and every day, has the chance to say something:with our actions, our words and our voices.


Perfect for budding activists everywhere, this timely story reminds readers of the undeniable importance and power of their voice. There are so many ways to tell the world who you are . . . what you are thinking . . . and what you believe. And how you'll make it better. The time is now: SAY SOMETHING!

Bear for Breakfast

Donovan is hungry for a special kind of breakfast . . . BEAR!


It's breakfast time and Donovan knows exactly what he wants this morning! Not eggs, not pancakes, not cereal. No, what he wants is BEAR, just like his grandfather used to eat for breakfast!


So Donovan sets off to bag a bear of his own, going on an adventurous hunt through the woods, where he stalks and is stalked by an ant, a squirrel, and a dog - but they are not bears, so he shoos them away!


When Donovan finally meets a real, big and growling bear, he quickly learns that sometimes breakfast tastes best when it doesn't have any teeth!


This story was inspired by Donovan, a first-grader in in La Loche, Saskatchewan, a Chippewan community in northern Saskatchewan that Robert Munsch visited in January, 1990. When Robert asked what the kids liked to eat, Donovan said that he liked to eat BEAR!