Lynx MS News

AIS West - November 2020

Dear students and parents,


We hope this newsletter finds you well. Welcome to Term 2. We have slowly gotten into our rhythm with hybrid learning and we are at a point where true, in depth learning is taking place. We are excited to share many successes on Thursday at Parent Teacher Conferences.


Please carefully read the Important Dates listed below. You will notice that we will have our second independent learning day on Sunday, November 8. This will give students an opportunity to catch up on their studies from home. They will also be able to join Zoom office hours throughout the day to get individual support from teachers.


This month the middle school is proud to sponsor our AIS West Gives Back project. Our students are eager to collect gently used winter items to keep our less fortunate neighbors warm this season. Please bring donations to the front gate or Middle School office. Let's see which grade is the most generous.


As always, we are here for you at any time. Do not hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns.


Your partners in education,

Mark Tennant

Secondary School Principal

mtennant@aiswest.com


Chelsea Armstrong

Middle School Vice Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Middle School Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Important Dates

November 1 - 4 - Cohort B on Campus

Cohort A at home independent learning


November 5 - Parent Teacher Conferences

8:00 - 3:00 on Zoom


November 8 - Independent Online Learning Day - No Students on Campus

Mandatory Student Assembly on Zoom


November 9 - 12 - Cohort A on Campus (Spirit Week)

Cohort B at home independent learning


November 12- Middle School Parent Workshop

10:00am on Zoom


November 15 - 19 - Cohort B on Campus (Spirit Week)

Cohort A at home independent learning


November 22 - 25 Cohort A on Campus

Cohort B at home independent learning


November 26 - Thanksgiving Day - No School


December 3 - Professional Development Day - No School for Students

Big picture

Counselor's Corner

Angela Fushtey - Middle School Counselor afushtey@aiswest.com

We are back from our much needed break and starting a fresh term. This month we are going to be doing a virtual assembly for students on November 8th and a virtual parent coffee morning on the 12th to discuss plans to academically support students in need. We are also in the spirit of giving this month so remember to send students to school with gently used warm clothing items to give to donate to those in need.
Big picture

Student of the Month

Amina Orfi, Grade 8, is our Student of the Month. She was chosen by her teachers because she embodies the IB Learner Profile Trait: Principled.


One teacher wrote: Amina demonstrates honesty and takes pride in everything she does. She respects herself, her peers and teachers. She is fair and is very well-aware of her actions. Although she's so young, she weighs out options in a mature way and acts responsibly.

Teacher of the Month

Mr. Mohamed Ahmed, Arabic Social Studies Teacher, is our Teacher of the Month. Mr. Mohamed was chosen by his colleagues because he embodies the IB Learner Profile Trait: Principled. A principled teacher acts with integrity and honesty, with a strong sense of fairness, justice and respect for the dignity of the individual, groups and communities. They take responsibility for their own actions and the consequences that accompany them.


One teacher wrote: Mohamed embodies what it means to be principled because of his strong views about fairness, honesty and his sympathy for and interest in groups and communities.

Big picture

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Gail Heard - gheard@aiswest.com

We are learning about memoirs and building our background knowledge of the history and culture of Cuba as we prepare to start reading the memoir Island Treasures: Growing up in Cuba.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Grade 6 is learning about the preservation of National Parks. Students are planning their own trips using topographic maps with map keys and scaled distances. Next week students begin studying migration and the impact on people and places.

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

We will be reviewing addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division word problems. Afterwards, we will work on exponents, exponential notation, square, and square roots.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Andrea Clark - aclark@aiswest.com

This month in science students will continue to learn about forms of energy and energy transformations. We will apply our knowledge to the real-world through hands-on activities. In mid-November, we will begin a new unit on Earth science.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: درس " المنصور.. والطيور" قراءة. / درس "الطماع والدجاجة " نصوص. / درس "إن و أخواتها " نحو. / الفصل الثاني "عزة نفس وطموح مبكر" - قصة علي مبارك. التربية الدينية الإسلامية:درس "طلب العلم فريضة". / درس "حمزة سيد الشهداء".

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة (غرائب المخلوقات نحو ( ضماير الغائب والجملة الاسمية ،الفعلية) املاء ( ال قمرية والشمسية والتاء المربوطة ،التاء المفتوحة ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة الام)

Arabic SS 6 - Asmaa Mahmoud- amahmoud@aiswest.com

نظام الحكم العثماني ـ آثار الحكم العثماني على مصر اجتماعياً واقتصادياً وعلمياً وفنياً ـ خصاذص سكان البيئة الزراعية التعليمية ـ مشكلات سكان البيئة الزراعية ـ المشكلات الاقتصادية بالبيئة الزراعيةـ الحملة الفرنسية على مصر أسبابها أحداثها

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

We will start to learn subjects and verbs in French and we will learn to ask about likes and dislikes. In our géoculture section, we will continue to explore the French francophone countries in the world.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will study the Day of Dead celebration in Mexico, Guatemala and El Salvador, and we will study how to say where ourselves and others are from.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

We will rehearse "The Greedy Hippp" and work on the "real" set-design.

Dance 6 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning how to dance on beat as a group.

Technology 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

We will finish unit 2 building and fighting with sumo bots, as a form of consollidating knowledge around simple machines and how to incorporate them to build robots. After that, we'll be moving on building robots to solve real life issues on unit 3.

Physical Education 6 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Ron Thomson mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com, and rthomson@aiswest.com

In Physical Education, we have been learning about the different health related components of fitness and linking them to a range of skills and fitness activities.

Art 6 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning about how to create collabrative artworks inspired by Surealism.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Students should be practicing daily for at least 10 minutes. All students should be streaming my classes when working on line. We are now on p.7 and 8, learning new notes and rhythms.

MS Band - We are working towards our first performance which will be held during lunch in a few weeks.

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Gail heard and Amira Nabhan - gheard@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

We will read our first novel; Kwame Alexander's Booked, and work on poetic form and annotation skills. Students will continue to hone their grammatical skills.

Math 7 - Michael Heard and Amira Elsherif mheard@aiswest.com, aelsherif@aiswest.com

We will work with directed numbers in fractions, decimals and percentages in the coming weeks.

Science 7 - Andrea Clark & Yara Elshorafa aclark@aiswest.com, yelshorafa@aiswest.com

Happy November, Everyone! This month we will be exploring matter cycles: carbon, oxygen, phosphorous, and nitrogen. We will be investigating how plants respirate using a microscope.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

This month, students will demonstrate their presentation skills on the topic of Ancient Sumer, the oldest civilization in history. We will also explore how other civilizations in the region of Mesopotamia came to exist and how they influenced things we still do or use today!

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud - smahmoud@aiswest.com

القواعد النحوية:(الضمائر وأنواعها-أنواع الخبر-الفعل الصحيح والمتعدي)النصوص الأدبية: (عشقناك يا مصر-من مكارم الأخلاق-فضل العلم والعمل) قراءةوفهم:(الفصل الأول من قصةعقبة بن نافع) التحدث والاستماع(مقال عسل النحل)

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

We will rehearse "The Rainbow Fish" and work on the "real" set design.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

We will learn to ask about one's interests and to make plans. In grammar, we will review the verbs être and avoir. In our géoculture section, we will continue to explore the French francophone countries in the world.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will learn to talk about after school activities students like or do not like to do.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة (غرائب المخلوقات نحو ( ضماير الغائب والجملة الاسمية ،الفعلية) املاء ( ال قمرية والشمسية والتاء المربوطة ،التاء المفتوحة ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة الام)

Technology 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

We will finish unit 2 by programming and designing a simple one level video game in Ready Maker. Later, on unit 3, we are going to move on to understanding how to design various levels games.

Art 7 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning about Day of the Dead and creating artworks inspired by traditional Mexican art.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Students should be practicing daily at least 10 minutes. All students should be streaming my classes when working online. We are now on p.7 and 8, learning new notes and rhythms.

MS Band - We are working towards our first performance which will be held during lunch in a few weeks.

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning about body posture and applying dance elements to our choreography.

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

درس تعاقب الليل والنهار ـ درس عصر الدولة القديمةـ درس تعاقب الفصول الأربعة

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

In Physical Education, students are learning how to connect the components of fitness to their activities and exercises and are completing a range of fitness tests.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Hadear Hassan & Amira Nabhan - hhassan@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month, we will start reading the first novel for this year: Where The Streets Had A Name by Randa Abdelfattah. Students will analyze as well as draw inferences from the text, while following the main character and the challenges she faces.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Laila Elfakharany -aelsherif@aiswest.com, lelfakharany@aiswest.com

Students will learn how to solve one-step and two-step equations, using the balance method and the movement method. They will practice mixed problems with the four operations.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Hadear Hassan - hhassan@aiswest.com

Students have completed the unit on the Roman Empire and its Legacy, and are now studying the development of the Feudal Age and the Influence of the Roman Catholic Church in the Middle Ages. As part of their studies, the students are doing summative projects over both of the aforementioned topics. These projects will deepen the students' understanding of both topics.

Science 8 - Yara Elshorafa & Dina Sonbol - yelshorafa@aiswest.com, dsonbol@aiswest.com

Students will continue learning about energy and energy transformations. They will carry out a lab investigation that will help them further understand the law of conservation of energy.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will discuss how to conjugate different boot verbs, and continue using the food vocabulary to express preferences.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

We will learn vocabulary about things in a classroom, and we will learn to use classroom expressions. In grammar, we will review the verbs être, avoir and aller and we will learn the French indefinite articles and plural of nouns. In our géoculture section, we will continue exploring Île-de-France.

Technology 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

By the end of term 2 students applied their understanding of basic command shapes, color and the Processing coordinates system as part of unit 2. In the next unit they will start working on conditions and loops as necessary tools to create more complex and interactive programs that allow them to express themselves through programming.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة (الكنز قبل ان يضيع) نحو ( المبتدا والخبر) املاء ( حروف تنطق ولا تكتب ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة الرجل والكلب)

Arabic 8 - Salah Moaty & Aly Mansour - smoaty@aiswest.com, amansour@aiswest.com

- اللغة العربية: نص في حب مصر ، درس النعت والعطف . التربية الإسلامية: يسر الإسلام في الطهارة ويسر الإسلام في الصلاة ، الفصل الأول من قصة أسامة ين زيد

Art 8 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are completing artworks using grids and learning to paint in a controlled manner.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning about body posture and applying dance elements to our choreography.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

We will rehearse "Sorry, Wrong Number" and work on the "real" set design

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

In Physical Education, students are learning to identify health related components of fitness compared to skill related components of fitness and are also being tested in a range of fitness tests.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Students should be practicing daily at least 10 minutes. All students should be streaming my classes when working online. We are now on p.7 and 8, learning new notes and rhythms.

MS Band - We are working towards our first performance which will be held during lunch in a few weeks.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool