New England Colonies Info & Stuff

By Kyle Carden

What Are The New England Colonies

The region of the New England Colonies is located in the Northeastern area of what is now the United States. The New England Colonies are comprised of six states, which, at the time of the 1600's, included Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, and Rhode Island. Present day New England now includes Vermont, which, during the 1600s, was claimed by New York And New Hampshire.


New England Colonies Colonies - Economic Activity & Trade
There were considerable differences between the New England, Middle and Southern regions. Economic activities and trade were dependant of the environment in which the Colonists lived. The geography and climate impacted the trade and economic activities of New England Colonies. In the New England towns along the coast, the colonists made their living fishing, whaling, and shipbuilding. The fish included cod, mackerel, herring, halibut, hake,mbass and sturgeon. Whale oil was a valuable resource as it could be used in lamps. Farming was difficult in New England for crops like wheat because of the poor soil but corn, pumpkins, rye, squash and beans were planted. The Northern Colonies of New England concentrated in manufacture and focussed on town life and industries such as ship building and the manufacture and export of rum.


This region was founded heavily on religion, but later came out to be somewhat of both; people having to socially contribute for financial stability amongst the colony.

How Was Life Then?

Life in the New England Colonies was hard. Every family member that could walk helped with the chores. Even though the colonies had poor soil most people farmed. Most farms were either too small or too poor to have African slaves. Before the farm was used they had to cut down the trees and use them to make the house and the farm yard; like fences and the barn, of course.

What Is The Mayflower Compact?

The Mayflower compact is a very significant piece of writing which was in fact the first written framework and the first governing document of Plymouth Colony in what is now the United States. It was signed by separatist Congregationalists who called themselves "Saints" on November 11, 1620 while on the ship Mayflower.