Stonybrook Middle School

The Knightly News, September 2021

Big picture

WELCOME TO STONYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL!

We're off to a great start! It's wonderful to see our hallways filled with students and staff.


PRINCIPALS' MESSAGES


Greetings to the parents of the wonderful students at Stonybrook Middle School. Mr. Terrick and I thought it might be a good idea to introduce ourselves to the school community. My name is Ed Neufeld, and I am the interim principal of SMS. I first worked in this building as the vice principal 20 years ago when it was the Steinbach Junior High. Last year, I retired from the principal role at Clearspring Middle School. As a principal for over 20 years, I have learned that the best way to build a strong school is to have a strong, positive relationship with parents. My hope is that all our interactions with students, parents, and staff will be characterized by gentleness and kindness. While we may not always agree on things, I think we can find a way to be kind to one another.


Greetings! My name is John Terrick and I first entered this building as a grade 7 student just over 30 years ago. I came back to the Steinbach Junior High as a teacher back in 2000 and I am excited to return to Stonybrook Middle School having spent most of my time in Hanover in Middle/High School and the last 5 years in Admin. In the short time that we have been back on site, we have seen how SMS has not lost our way on “caring for kids.” We love what we do, and I think it shows.


We want to work hard this year to keep this school the amazing place it is. We have been impressed by the kindness and positive energy of the students so far this school year, and anticipate that will continue. That, combined with a caring and energetic staff, is a wonderful foundation upon which to build a terrific school year.

Big picture

Take Note!

Strong Connections - September 17th and 20th

On Friday, September 17th and Monday, September 20th, SMS will be hosting a two day Strong Connections event for all students. Half of each Grade 5-8 class will attend Friday while the other half attends Monday. Your child's Strong Connection date will be posted on the Parent Portal by Monday, September 13th, 4:00 p.m. For those who do not subscribe to the Parent Portal, a letter will be sent home indicating which day your child will attend. Please contact your child’s homeroom teacher if there is a conflict. If this date does not work for you, please call the school office as soon as possible.


These days are very important for teachers for the planning of each of their students, but they will also be meaningful to students who have the opportunity to make strong connections with their teachers. Students will have opportunities to be active throughout the day.


Cross Country Runs

Our school may participate in some Cross Country Runs this fall. The HSD Cross Country Run #1 has been scheduled for Friday, September 24th and the second HSD Cross Country Run has been scheduled for Friday, October 1st. More information will be sent home with the students who will be participating in these runs.


Truth and Reconciliation Day - Thursday, September 30th

Manitoba will be recognizing September 30th as National Day for Truth and Reconciliation on September 30th. Schools will be closed and no classes will be held on this day.


Our school will be focusing on Truth and Reconciliation the week of September 26th to October 1st.

Picture Day

Rescheduled!

Picture Day rescheduled to Tuesday, October 12th

We will have a little bit longer to practice our smiles this year. Lifetouch is unable to be here on Wednesday, September 15th, and instead, Tuesday, October 12th, has been booked for the School Picture Day. Picture Retake Day will be on Wednesday, November 3rd.

Big picture

Attendance Procedures

*Please phone in or send a note when your child is away from school for any reason at all. You may also enter attendance notes through the HSD's Parent Portal.

*If your child is absent from school and the office has not been notified, you may receive an automated telephone message asking you to contact the school with a reason your child is absent by phone call or note.

*You may email the office with attendance information, sms@hsd.ca.


Parent Portal

This is an excellent way to keep in contact with the school! If you haven't already set up your Parent Portal Account, we would encourage you to do so! Parent Portal set up instructions are below. Participation in the Parent Portal is highly encouraged as this is the tool all our teachers use to communicate with you throughout the school year.


If you have difficulties creating an account, please contact the school office and we will strive to help you!

Student Pick Up

Picking up or Dropping Off Students:


Students who are regularly picked up by their parents are dismissed at 3:38. Students will exit out their Cohort Door.


For students in Cohort Groups A and B - you can pick up/drop off your child from either Lumber Avenue or 4th Street.

For students in Cohort Group C and D - you can park on 4th Street or use the Bus Loop for pick up/drop off.

For students in Cohort Groups E, F, G and H - you can use the Bus Loop or Lumber Street for pick up/drop off.


Please remind your child not to run across the road to your vehicle, and to look both ways before crossing the street. We want to keep our students safe inside and outside of the school!


If your plans for transportation change for your child, please contact the school to inform.

If you wish to have your child picked up by another friend or relative for an occasion, you must make arrangements with the office prior to that pick up.


Students may not make alternative arrangements with friends at the end of the day. They are expected to follow the prearranged plans as indicated by parents. We encourage parents to ensure their child returns directly home at the end of the day and then make arrangements with friends at that point.


Picking Up a Student during the School Day:


Please call or email the school office or your child's homeroom teacher if you will be picking up your child before the end of the day.

We ask that parents and caregivers remain OUTSIDE to drop off and pick up their child. Please call the office at 204 326 6481 upon arrival when picking up your child, and they will be escorted to your vehicle.


If your child should arrive late at school in the morning, they should still report to the office so that we can update their attendance. They should still use their Cohort entrance, sanitize upon entry, and then proceed to the office.

SMS Staff List

5DD - Mr. Don Dewey ddewey@hsd.ca

5KH - Ms. Kate Hildebrand khildebrand@hsd.ca

5MK - Ms. Meagan Klippenstein mklippenstein@hsd.ca

5LL - Ms. Lauren Laninga llaninga@hsd.ca

5TN - Mr. Trevor Neufeld tneufeld@hsd.ca

5MR - Mr. Mike Reimer mreimber@hsd.ca


6AH - Mr. Al Harder aharder@hsd.ca

6KB - Ms. Kristie Bouchard kbouchard@hsd.ca

6HB - Ms. Holly Baetsen hbaetsen@hsd.ca

6AR - Mr. Anders Rempel arempel@hsd.ca

6CT - Ms. Cassandra Taylor ctaylor@hsd.ca


7AK - Ms. Alexa Klein aklein@hsd.ca

7LD - Ms. LaRae Driedger ldriedger@hsd.ca

7KH - Ms. Katherine Heide kaheide@hsd.ca

7JL - Ms. Janine Lavallee jlavallee@hsd.ca

7KW - Ms. Kayla Warkentin kwarkentin@hsd.ca

7EW - Mr. Erik Wiebe ewiebe@hsd.ca


8LD - Ms. Lisa Desautels ldesautels@hsd.ca

8MG - Mr. Markus Goertzen mgoertzen@hsd.ca

8KD - Ms. Krystin Dychko kdychko@hsd.ca

8RN - Ms. Robin Nemeth rnemeth@hsd.ca

8GS - Mr. Glen Shumsky gshumsky@hsd.ca


Music - Ms. Nancy Gomes-Fast ngomes@hsd.ca

Band - Mr. Markus Goertzen mgoertzen@hsd.ca

Human Ecology (Sewing/Foods) - Ms. Jessica MacClure jmacclure@hsd.ca

Technology Education - Mr. Tyler North tnorth@hsd.ca

Learning Support - Mr. Glenn Hiebert ghiebert@hsd.ca

Student Services - Ms. Tanya Kasdorf tkasdorf@hsd.ca

Student Services - Mr. Lyle Koop lkoop@hsd.ca

Phys Ed - Mr. Al Thiessen athiessen@hsd.ca

Phys Ed - Mr. Eddi Konrad ekonrad@hsd.ca


Interim Principal - Mr. Ed Neufeld eneufeld@hsd.ca

Interim Vice-Principal - Mr. John Terrick jterrick@hsd.ca

School Administrative Secretary - Ms. Heather Friesen hfriesen@hsd.ca

Library Support Specialist - Ms. Michelle King mking@hsd.ca

Library Support Specialist (am)/School Secretary (pm) - Ms. Arlene Monkman amonkman@hsd.ca

Head Custodian - Mr. Allan Tkachuk atkachuk@hsd.ca

Assistant Head Custodian - Ms. Chelsea Dawson-Sayer cdawsonsayer@hsd.ca


Educational Assistants

Amanda Dupont

Carson Dyck

Laura Dyck

Cora Kehler

Val Klassen

Jackie Lawrie

Alex McIntosh

Sandra Peters

Vanessa Plante

Deneen Treble

Big picture

Student Messages

This year our students are dismissed at different times at the end of the day. If you have a message for your student, please be sure that you contact the office or the homeroom teacher with that message prior to 3:15 P.M. With students beginning to leave at 3:38, it is difficult to get the message to the student in that short period of time. We try our best - but we cannot guarantee that they will get their message if it is called in last minute!


Thanks so much for helping us with this!

Lunch Hour

All students are to stay on campus for lunch (unless they go home regularly for lunch). Students are not allowed to go off campus to pick up lunch at Tim Horton's, Co-op, etc.


Microwaves are not available for heating up lunch food. Please send items to school that do not have to be warmed up. Please also remember to send whatever utensils the students need to eat their lunch (ie cutlery).


Thanks so much for your cooperation!

Water Bottles

Please make sure your child brings a water bottle to school. Water bottle filling stations are available for students to fill up their bottles. The water fountains cannot be used at this time. We want to prevent having thirsty children during the day!

Student Verification on Parent Portal

Address Changes

It would be appreciated if you would go on the Parent Portal and verify that your information for this year is correct. If there are any changes (new address, different phone numbers or contact information), please let us know. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT FOR US TO HAVE UP-TO-DATE CONTACT INFORMATION.

If your email address has changed or you have acquired an email address, we would appreciate receiving that information. Email is an excellent form of communication between parent and teacher and we would like to keep you updated on the progress of your child.


Want to Contact Us?

Click on the Stonybrook website by viewing sms.hsd.ca and find email links to your child’s teacher to stay in touch.


Security!

Security cameras are installed both inside and outside of the school. These cameras help monitor many areas on the school grounds (ex. Bicycle racks). These cameras help make Stonybrook Middle School a safer school for your child.


We are looking forward to having a great year with your child!

A Peanut/Nut and Scent Safe School!

SMS is a peanut/nut safe school, and as we have students who are allergic to nuts, we need your help. Please do not send any peanut and/or nut type products for lunch or snacks. If students should forget and bring those products, the teachers will place it in a Ziploc bag and ask the student to take it back home. We hope this does not cause a great inconvenience to you, and would appreciate your cooperation and understanding.

We would also appreciate if students would not wear perfume or strong smelling deodorants or lotions, as there are students/staff that have allergies to strong scents.

Students who have these allergies, please have your epi-pen on you at all times; and having a second epi-pen available at the school office is good practice.

Thank you for your cooperation!

We Believe...

The staff and administration of SMS believe in the Middle School philosophy that creates an inviting, supportive and safe place, a joyful community that promotes in-depth learning and enhances students’ physical and emotional well-being.

We believe in a healthy school environment where human relationships are paramount.

We believe that interactions among staff members and between students should reflect democracy, fairness and mutual respect.

We believe that SMS should promote a safe and supportive environment where students are encouraged to take intellectual risks, to be bold with their expectations and to explore new challenges.

SMS believes that every student, no matter of creed, color or uniqueness, serves as a genuine part of the community and contributes based on individual strengths.

Adapted from “This We Believe: Successful Schools for Young Adolescents”, National Middle School Association

As we embrace this Middle Years philosophy, we are teaching our students what it means to be “Ready to Learn”, and what responsibility, respect and safety looks like throughout the school, classrooms and playground. Together we are creating life long learners and positive global citizens.

Student Accident Insurance

Universal Health Insurance

If you are interested in Student Accident Insurance, please see the attached Information.
Big picture

Girls Rugby Program

This is a brand new Program for Manitoba Girls!!


The Girls Rugby Program is a Flag Rugby based program for girls from grades 2 to 8. Flag Rugby is a fun, all-inclusive way to introduce young girls to the fundamental skills of rugby with a big emphasis on learning positive core values and having fun!


If you are interested in learning about this program, check out the flyer attached below.

Steinbach Arts Council Programs

Learn everything you need to know about SAC's Fall Programs and how they are keeping kids busy and safe this season!
Big picture