LEILAH CASTRO

NEW LEXINGTON MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENT

School

I am a New Lexington Middle School student. Go Panthers! I am in the 7th grade. I sometimes enjoy school. So far this year I have had mostly A's. School is my #1 priority. I hope to go to college for wrestling at The University of Cumberlands in Kentucky. I am I student athlete and I try my hardest in school. I hope to get a full ride scholarship to go to college.

Family

I have a brother and a sister also a mother and a father. My brother is the oldest child in my family. His name is Corban. He is 15 years of age. He is a freshman at New Lexington High School. My brother has a girlfriend named Chelsea. He also wrestled and skateboards. My sister is 9. Her name is Maddie. She is a 4th grader at New Lexington elementary school. She plays softball and does gymnastics. My mother is a mail carrier. Her name is Angie. She has taught me a lot. She also likes supporting my siblings and I. My father works for a brick paving company. His name is Josh. He is also my wrestling coach and has taught me pretty much all the wrestling I know. I also have 2 pit bull mix dogs. Their names are Remy and Debo. Remy is only a puppy, he is about 15 weeks old. Debo is a little bit older we have had him for about 4-6 years. They like running around and causing trouble. They also like walks and car rides.

Wrestling

I have been wrestling for 4 years now. I am on the New Lexington's Boys Middle school wrestling team. I was a starter in the line-up at 110 pounds at the beginning of the season and was a starter at 104 pounds for most of the season. I have qualified for the state wrestling tournament in Youngstown, Ohio for 3 years in a row. I have also traveled to Oklahoma City, Oklahoma for the Girls National Tournament and and got 1st place, I have also traveled to Ypsilanti, Michigan for the War Of The Roses Girls Grand National Wrestling tournament at that tournament I wrestled all 3 styles of wrestling only having experience with 1 of those 3 styles, I got 1st place in Folkstyle (the style I know), I also got 1st place in Freestyle and I got 2nd place in Greco-Roman. I went to Massilon Ohio for the Viper pit tournament and got 1st in my weight and 2nd in 114 weight class. I have also won the Girls state 3x in Tiffin, Ohio. I was also league champion at weight class 110.

Other Interest

I also play softball. I play catcher in softball. This year is only my second year on a rec ball softball team.


I enjoy watching UFC and MMA ( Mixed Martial Arts ). My favorite UFC fighter is Ronda Rousey. Ronda is my idol.


I love hanging out with my best friend Taya and all of my other friends when I am not busy.


I love listening to music. I mostly listen to Hip Hop and rap. My favorite artists are Nicki Minaj, Fetty Wap, and many others.


In the spring I love going cat fishing with my dad in our boat.


I also like spending time with my family.


Last but not least, I like spending time with my girls wrestling team that I usually wrestle with on the weekends.