4 Noble Truths and 8 Fold Path

The 4 Noble Truths

1. Life is suffering

2. The cause of suffering is desire

3. The end of suffering is to end your desire

4. Ending suffering is possible by practicing the 8 Fold Path

8 Fold Path

The 8 Fold Path is the Buddhist teaching of the means of attaining Nirvana through rightness of belief, resolve, speech, action, livelihood, effort, thought, and meditation.

Big image

These are significant in contemporary culture because modern day values are corrupt and humbling ones self with Siddhartha’s wise practices enables peace of mind and a balanced outlook on life.