Trix Family News

Week of April 25, 2022

Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (37 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 4)

Happy Sunday Family!


The weekend is over and we are heading into another full week of instruction and testing for a couple of grade levels. 3rd-5th grade did a wonderful job last week taking portions of the MSTEP assessment. They begin our testing season strong just how we plan to finish.


Last week attendance numbers had a slight dip. I want to encourage families to remember scholars still have a quarter of instruction left. It is important for our scholars to be in class daily to ensure they are prepared for the following grade. Attendance is important for their academic growth and when scholars are not in class they are not learning.


MSTEP testing continues next week and we want our 5th and 8th graders to be prepared to finish out this leg of testing for their grade levels. Below are are tips to support parents to prepare your scholars for testing next week!


Testing Tips for Parents


1. Make sure your child gets plenty of rest the night before the test.

2. On the morning of the test, your child needs to get up in plenty of time so he/she won't feel rushed.

3. Feed your child a good breakfast. Research shows that children do better on tests if they have had a good breakfast. (Trix Academy Breakfast runs from 8:05am-8:25am)

4. Do as much as you can to make your child feel comfortable. Try not to say things to make him/her feel more nervous.

5. Reassure your child that no matter the outcome of the test you will still love him/her. Encourage them to simply do their best.

6. Take an active role in your child's education throughout the school year. Let your child know you are interested in his/her learning by taking part in the entire process.

7. Give your child praise even if he or she didn't do well on the test.



Let's make it a wonderful week!!!


Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

MSTEP Testing Schedule Week of April 25th

Monday, April 25th 3rd (ELA/Math), 4th (Math), 5th (ELA) Make Up's

Tuesday, April 26th 5th Grade Math

Wednesday, April 27th 8th Grade Social Studies

Thursday, April 28th 8th Grade Science

Friday, April 29th Make Up's

Big picture

Phalen Leadership Academies Town Hall -Wednesday, April 27th at 6:00 PM EST/5:00 PM CST

Calling all families with scholars that attend PLA partner schools in the Michigan or D.C. area! Join Phalen Leadership Academies Regional Leadership for a Michigan and D.C. area Virtual Townhall on


Wednesday, April 27th at 6:00 PM EST/5:00 PM CST.


Get important news and updates, learn more about PLA and ask questions!


Click the link today to register: https://phalen.info/TownHallApril27th

PLA Townhall Family Survey Please Complete by May 4th

Big picture

SCHOOL ESSER III FUNDS SURVEY - PARENT SURVEY Need More Survey Takers!

Please complete the survey below to give your feedback on how to use our ESSER III funds to support the staff and scholars of Trix Academy.


https://forms.gle/p9w86wKg3JGumQTW7

Big picture

SUMMER ADVANTAGE 2022

"WHAT ARE YOU DOING THIS SUMMER!!!


Spots are moving quickly. Hard copy applications went out last week. Please return your form to secure your spot! One 60% of spots have been filled. Don't miss out on this opportunity for your scholars.

Summer Advantage Registration


Or call the Summer Advantage Team at 1-866-924-7226 from 8am-6pm Monday - Friday

Summer Advantage 2022: Registration & Dates Now Available
Big picture

Climate and Culture

Climate & Culture

Trix Academy is a uniform school. All scholars in grades K-8 are expected to be in proper uniform daily. Please ensure your scholars are in uniform daily.


  • Grades K-3: Red polo shirt with black or khaki pants.
  • Grades 4-5: Gray polo shirt with black or khaki pants.
  • Grades 6-8: Solid black or white shirt with black or khaki pants.


Attendance

To ensure the academic success of your scholar, please make sure your school comes to school daily. Tardies and early dismissals can and will affect the academic success of your scholar as well. When scholars are absent, tardy and picked up early, they lose instructional time.


  • School starts everyday at 8;30am
  • School ends everyday at 3:30pm
  • The scholars can enter the building at 8:05am
  • Scholars are considered tardy at 8:45am
Big picture

Mandatory Face Mask

Parents please send your scholars with a face mask DAILY!! We have limited supply and cannot keep up with providing a face mask to each scholar in the school every school day (M-F). Please help the school by sending your scholars prepared with their own face mask.
Big picture

Kickboard Store Friday, April 29th

Last Week's Kickboard Winners


Arielle Jackson - K

Kamiya Hardin - K

Zay'len Draughan - K

Kam'Ryn Woods - K

Malaysia Gaines - 1st

Damiyah Cottrell - 2nd

Tylecia Moore - 3rd

Dominica Riley - 3rd

Emoni Rodger - 4th

DeAngleo Fisher - 4th

Damontai Neal - 5th

Paris Malone - 5th

Jamari Barnes - 6th

Raychelle Binion - 8th

Makayla Young - 8th

Big picture

78% Average Daily Attendance the week of April 18th - April 22nd DAILY GOAL 95%

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

Dates to Remember


April 19th Testing Season Officially Begins (MSTEP Testing Day 1)


Upcoming May Dates

May 6th Professional Development Early Dismissal

May 17th NWEA Testing Begins

May 27th-May 30th Memorial Day Weekend No School

May 31st School Resumes

Big picture

Top Trade Schools in Detroit

Big picture


Detroit At Work Scholarship Program


Detroit at Work has five scholarship programs designed to give Detroiters access to greater opportunity, better careers and higher earning power.

Fill out the FORM and choose all programs you're interested in.

If you're interested in a finding a job, call us at 313-962-9675! Detroit at Work is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Emerging Industries Training Institute:


Emerging Industries Training Institute (EITI) is Detroit’s premier vocational school. We are the only employer led training facility in the City of Detroit. We pride ourselves in offering employment opportunities for our graduates, offering classes year round. EITI has the success of our students at the forefront of everything we do…we are in the business of changing lives for the better…starting with yours!


Since 2009, EITI has placed over 2,200 graduates into viable careers. With a placement rate of over 90% and consistently retaining over 88% of our students, EITI works closely with participating employers to ensure our graduates receive the best employment experience possible.


Local Food Pantry:

New Covenant of Peace

13560 E. McNichols
Detroit, MI - 48205

Phone: (313) 526-4000
tonynewcop@yahoo.com

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.