Characteristics and Adaptations

Lions, Tigers, and Leopards

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Lions
  3. Tigers
  4. Leopards
  5. Glossary


Big Cats are large cats in Africa. They are not like house cats that are pets. Instead, big cats must live in the wild. Many are becoming endangered. It is our job to make sure they stay safe. Big Cats include lions, tigers, and leopards. They have many interesting characteristics and adaptations that help them to survive.


Lions are the second largest African cat (the tiger is the largest). They have sharp teeth and claws that help them to catch and eat their prey. They also have strong legs for running. Their fur can help them to camouflage since it is a light yellow to brown color, like their habitat. Lions live in prides. These characteristics help lions to adapt to their environment and help them to survive.


Tigers are the largest African cat. They have black stripes that are different. They can also have orange, gold, or white fur. There are nine different species, which is why their fur can be different colors. They hunt at night so they can catch their prey when they are sleeping. They also love to swim, which helps them to catch the prey that is found in water. Tigers adapt to the environment so they can eat and survive.


Leopards have spots called rosettes. They can be different shapes like circles or squares. Just like the tiger's stripes, they are not the same. Leopards can have light to dark brown fur that helps them to camouflage. They are nocturnal, so they are awake at night. Having brown fur helps them to camouflage and hide from predators when they are asleep.



group of lions


awake at night


spots on a leopard