PTA News Flash

Indian Knoll Elementary School

Veterans Day Program

Friday, November 6th


Indian Knoll will be celebrating all veteran's with a breakfast and special program. If you know a veteran that would like to be included please fill out the form and return by October 16th. Download the questionnaire here. We still need forms from past participants with your name and how many guests will be attending, we have all other info on file. Use code ikespta to login to our PT-Avenue site.

Hearing and Vision Screenings

Next week student's in grades 1, 3 and 6 will have a hearing and vision screening. We are looking for volunteers to help run the screening. The only skill needed is willingness to help children, we will train you for the rest. We cannot do this without you!!! http://www.signupgenius.com/go/10c094caeaf2eaa8-ikes2

Box Tops Contest

Please help IKES raise money by sending in your "Cash for Trash" Box Tops, Campbell's Labels and old ink cartridges/cellphones. The class with the highest participation will receive a class party. Deadline for submitting is October 16th, 2015. Make sure the teacher's name is on the bag for class credit!

THANK YOU!!!

We would like to thank all of our volunteers and our sponsors for all your support this year. We have had many events like the Back to School Bash, Fitness Night and Pumpkin Run that have been a huge success. We have also done Teacher Appreciations, participated in Red Ribbon Week and rewarded the students for Accelerated Reader achievements. Our Executive Board and our Committee Chairs have been working tirelessly to make every event and program the best that it can be. We also want to thank our volunteers, every hour that you give makes the world of difference and we couldn't do it without you! Thank you everyone for making Indian Knoll the fabulous community that we all hold dear!

Bus Driver, Custodian and Crossing Guard Appreciation

On Monday October 19th PTA will show appreciation to our fabulous Bus Drivers, Custodial Staff and Crossing Guard. Feel free to show appreciation in any way you like. These people keep us all running safely day after day!

Walking Lunch

Would you like to walk or supervise the children walking during their lunchtime? Contact Traci Offenberg for volunteer dates and times! toffenberg@gmail.com

PTA Advocacy News

National PTA Takes Action

The Family Engagement in Education Act of 2015 was introduced in the US House of Representatives by Congressman Glenn Thompson (R-PA) and Congressman Mark Desaulnier (D-CA), and in the Senate by Senators Jack Reed (D-RI), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) and Chris Coons (D-DE).

These Congressional champions need our help! Contact your members of Congress and ask them to cosponsor, H.R. 1194 and S. 622, the Family Engagement in Education Act of 2015. The evidence is clear—schools need parents to help close the achievement gap, and we stand ready to help them with this important task. We need Congress to make sure that family engagement is a cornerstone of the ESEA reauthorization.

Go to http://cqrcengage.com/npta2/app/onestep-write-a-letter?3&engagementId=81496 to send a message to the members of Congress


State BOE met July 15-16 and the summary of all actions is available on www. ciclt.net

Be voices at the table before decisions affecting our children are made.

Executive Committee

Co President: Beth Thompson beththompson.ikespta@gmail.com

Co President: Mary Robinson maryrobinson.ikespta@gmail.com

Vice President: Katrina Brown katrinabrown.ikespta@gmail.com

Vice President: Allison Talley allisontalley.ikespta@gmail.com

Vice President: Angela Whittenburg angelawhittenburg@yahoo.com

Secretary: Carrie Goodwin carriegoodwin.ikespta@gmail.com

Treasurer: Cindy Brown cibrown1990@hotmail.com

Parliamentarian: Christy Bennett christybennett.ikespta@gmail.com