MoASSP Messenger February 8, 2019

Volume 32 Number 23 VIP Edition

Since August 1987, MoASSP Messenger has been published by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals, a non-profit organization affiliated with the National Association of Secondary School Principals.


“People who are good at relationships are always scanning the scene for things they can thank somebody for.” David Brooks, Writer for The New York Times.

The Marshall Memo #772 highlights this writer's opinion piece dated January 28, 2019, entitled, "Kindness is a Skill."


  • Take Action Now...Legislative Bulletin Update Week 5
  • Updated information regarding the Spring Conference, March 31-April 2
  • Show-Me Tour Travels to Lebanon HS
  • Eleven Principals Gather Jan. 31 in Columbia for important work
  • Opioid Workshops Provide Much Needed Support for Educators
  • Find out which schools are the top PLC schools in Missouri
  • In Case You Missed It (MO Scholars 100 Information, Deadline is Feb. 22), (Marshall Memo #772), (MoASSP ACTION Center NEEDS YOU!)

Update From the Executive Director

A CALL TO ACTION...The Legislative Bulletin

Take a few minutes to review the latest legislative bulletin sent out this afternoon. The MoASSP Action Center (Phone2Action) will be utilized on Monday. Stay tuned.

Congrats to Peter Herschend

Congratulations to long-time State Board Member, Peter Herschend, for his reappointment.

Marshall Memo

I have heard from several of you of your interest with the Marshall Memo. You can expect it each Tuesday morning in an email near you.

AMBA Reminder

Take a few minutes to check out all of your membership benefits through AMBA. See the details below. I was able to save about $40 recently on a rental car because of the discount code offered through AMBA. Check out the latest offers and deals.


Recharge this weekend and have some hot chocolate.

Whether you are aspiring, emerging, developing, or transformational, wherever you are on the “Principal’s Journey," it really is a “matter of principal(ple).” Clark Mershon

Help Welcome Our Newest 4 MoASSP Members

Fritz Long Duchesne High School Principal SL

Katie Campbell Ray-Pec East MS Principal KC

Lori Sullivan Bernard MS Principal SL

Clay Hanna Nixa Public Schools Dir. Secondary Education SW

Big picture

Missouri Principals Serve on Content Validation Team

This past Thursday, eleven principals from around the state were selected to provide input on the new administrator performance assessment. In partnership with the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) and the Missouri Professors of Educational Administration (MPEA), MoASSP was asked to conduct a content validation study on the new administrator performance assessment with a group of principals. The principals were asked to provide feedback on how well each question measures the job duties of a principal.

We appreciated the following principals for spending a day in the MoASSP office here in Columbia. From left to right, Jennifer Rukstad: Principal Rockbridge HS, David Mitchell: Principal, Summit Lakes MS, Todd Brendel: Assistant Principal, Lone Jack MS & HS, Dena Smith: Principal, Bourbon HS, Dave Schwarzenbach: Principal, Kearney HS, Chris Sartain: Principal, Oak Park HS, Monica Fulton: Principal, Rolla JH, Tony Gragnani: Principal, Columbia, Hickman HS, Tim Edwards: Principal, Boonville HS, Barbara McCormick: Principal, St. Teresa's Academy, Tom Merriott: Principal, Lebanon MS.

Thanks also to Dr. Beth Whitaker, Assistant Teaching Professor; Ed Leadership and Policy Analysis from the University of Missouri--Columbia for her involvement as well.

Big picture

35 Attend 2nd Opioid Workshop Hosted by Lebanon High School

MoASSP will host the third and final Opioid Workshop on February 21 at the Cape Girardeau Career and Technical Center from 9:00-3:00. See details below.
Big picture

Celebrating Missouri Professional Learning Communities

About 1,500 educators were in attendance at the 2019 Powerful Learning Conference January 28-29. Six secondary schools were recognized. Congratulations to these principals for leading their school to achieve this recognition. "One of the highest duties of leadership is to create the conditions in which others can be successful."
Big picture
Big picture

Upcoming Regional Meetings, Workshops, & Spring Conference Information

Check out all of the upcoming regional, workshops, and spring conference information by going to the MoASSP website.
Big picture
Big picture


MoASSP is proud to announce a new partnership with Association Member Benefits Advisors (AMBA). For over 30 years, AMBA has served members of educator associations like ours with discounts on travel, gifts, and everyday shopping. MoASSP values your commitment to the association, and we strive to add value to your membership. Through our partnership with AMBA, you and your family can enjoy thousands of exclusive, valuable discounts at online and retail locations such as Walgreens, Costco, Royal Caribbean, Target, T-Mobile, Regal Entertainment Group, Avis, and more. Also, significant group health insurance benefits are available to our members, whether employed or retired. Starting 2019, look for details on how to download the MyAMBAdiscounts app, how to take advantage of the MyAMBADining program, and how to enroll in group plans through MoASSP.


We are pleased to announce that Niles Media Group has partnered with MoASSP. Niles will be producing MoASSP video segments. For more more information on their Sports Marketing Academy, CLICK HERE.
Big picture
Big picture

MoASSP Board of Directors

  • NASSP Coordinator for Missouri: John Faulkenberry, Lee's Summit HS
  • MoASSP President: Ed Gettemeier, Hardin MS
  • MoASSP President-Elect: Marc Spunaugle, Lincoln HS
  • MoASSP Past President: Chris Hoehne, Ste. Genevieve HS
  • MoASSP Treasurer: Kathryn Greer, Francis Howell North HS
  • At-Large Non-Public: Valerie Todd, St. Mary's HS
  • At-Large Assistant Principal: Jennifer Strauser, Eureka HS
  • At-Large Middle Level: Jonathan Apostol, Monett MS
  • Kansas City (GKCMPA): Jeff Meisenheimer, Lee's Summit North HS
  • Northwest: Robert Bowers, Lathrop HS
  • Northeast: Scott Daly, Hallsville HS
  • Southeast: Dan Hecht, Kelly-Benton HS
  • Southwest: Sarah Odom, Cherokee MS
  • South Central: Jim Pritchett, Rolla HS
  • Central: Brandon Harding, Cole Camp HS
  • St. Louis (SASSP): Andy Croley, McCluer North HS
  • NASSP Board Member: Kevin Lowery, Lebanon HS

2018-2019 District Presidents

  1. Central Region: Jonathan Peterson, Smithton HS
  2. GKCMPA: Charlie Belt, Blue Springs South HS
  3. Northeast Region: Deborah Hill-Haag, Mexico MS
  4. Northwest Region: Beery Johnson, Benton HS
  5. SASSP: Gary Jansen, Crestview MS (Rockwood)
  6. South Central Region: Kelle McCallum, Washington HS
  7. Southeast Region: Lucas McKinnis, Bernie HS
  8. Southwest Region: Keith White, Buffalo HS
Big picture

Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals

The vision of MoASSP is to serve ALL middle level and high school administrators.

The mission of MoASSP is to improve secondary education through positive leadership and the enhancement of student performance.