Stonybrook Middle School

The Knightly News, September 2020

Big picture

WELCOME TO STONYBROOK MIDDLE SCHOOL!

We're off to a great start!


On Friday, September 18th and Monday, September 21st, SMS will be hosting a two day Strong Connections event for all students. Half of each Grade 5-8 class will attend Friday while the other half attends Monday. Your child's Strong Connection date is posted on the Parent Portal. For those who do not subscribe to the Parent Portal, a letter will be sent home indicating which day your child will attend. Please contact your child’s homeroom teacher if there is a conflict. If this date does not work for you, please call the school office as soon as possible.


These days are very important for teachers for the planning of each of their students, but they will also be meaningful to students who have the opportunity to make strong connections with their teachers. Students will have opportunities to be active throughout the day.

Attendance Procedures

*Please phone in or send a note when your child is away from school for any reason at all. You may also enter attendance notes through the HSD's Parent Portal.

*If your child is absent from school and the office has not been notified, you may receive an automated telephone message asking you to contact the school with a reason your child is absent by phone call or note.

*You may email the office with attendance information, hfriesen@hsd.ca.


Parent Portal

This is an excellent way to keep in contact with the school! If you haven't already set up your Parent Portal Account, we would encourage you to do so! Parent Portal set up instructions are below. Participation in the Parent Portal is highly encouraged as this is the tool all our teachers use to communicate with you throughout the school year.


If you have difficulties creating an account, please contact the school office and we will strive to help you!

Student Pick Up

Picking up or Dropping Off Students:


Students who are regularly picked up by their parents are dismissed at 3:25. Students will exit out their Cohort Door.


For students in Cohort Groups A, B and C - you can pick up/drop off your child from either Lumber Avenue or 4th Street.

For students in Cohort Group D - you can park on 4th Street or use the Bus Loop for pick up/drop off.

For students in Cohort Groups E, F, G and H - you can use the Bus Loop for pick up/drop off.


Please remind your child not to run across the road to your vehicle, and to look both ways before crossing the street. We want to keep our students safe inside and outside of the school!


If your plans for transportation change for your child, please contact the school to inform. Thank you to all the parents who have volunteered to pick up their child so that numbers on the bus can be reduced during this time.

If you wish to have your child picked up by another friend or relative for an occasion, you must make arrangements with the office prior to that pick up.


Students may not make alternative arrangements with friends at the end of the day. They are expected to follow the prearranged plans as indicated by parents. IE going to a friend’s house right after school etc. We encourage parents to ensure their child returns directly home at the end of the day and then make arrangements with friends at that point.


Picking Up at Student during the School Day:


Please call or email the school office or your child's homeroom teacher if you will be picking up your child before the end of the day.

We ask that parents and caregivers remain OUTSIDE to drop off and pick up their child. Please call the office at 204 326 6481 upon arrival when picking up your child, and they will be escorted to your vehicle.


If your child should arrive late at school in the morning, they should still report to the office so that we can update their attendance. They should still use their Cohort entrance, sanitize upon entry, and then proceed to the office.

SMS Staff List

5B Ms. Brigit Krysko bkrysko@hsd.ca

5D Mr. Don Dewey ddewey@hsd.ca

5K Mrs. Meagan Klippenstein mklippenstein@hsd.ca

5L Ms. Lauren Laninga llaninga@hsd.ca

5M Mrs. Jessica MacClure jmacclure@hsd.ca

5R Mr. Mike Reimer mreimer@hsd.ca


6A Mr. Al Harder aharder@hsd.ca

6B Mrs. Kristie Bouchard kbouchard@hsd.ca

6H Ms. Holly Baetsen hbaetsen@hsd.ca

6K Mrs. Elizabeth Klassen eklassen@hsd.ca

6R Mr. Anders Rempel arempel@hsd.ca

6T Ms. Cassandra Taylor ctaylor@hsd.ca


7D Mrs. LaRae Driedger ldriedger@hsd.ca

7H Mrs. Katherine Heide kaheide@hsd.ca

7J Ms. Janine Lavallee jlavallee@hsd.ca

7K Ms. Kayla Warkentin kwarkentin@hsd.ca

7W Mr. Erik Wiebe ewiebe@hsd.ca


8D Mrs. Lisa Desautels ldesautels@hsd.ca

8G Mr. Markus Goertzen mgoertzen@hsd.ca

8M Ms. Melissa Mathew mmathew@hsd.ca

8N Ms. Robin Nemeth rnemeth@hsd.ca

8S Mr. Glen Shumsky gshumsky@hsd.ca

8T Mr. Tyler North tnorth@hsd.ca


5-8 French Mr. Matthew Hoskins mhoskins@hsd.ca

5-6 Music Ms. Nancy Gomes ngomes@hsd.ca

Itinerant Teacher Mr. Stefan Nickoloff snickoloff@hsd.ca

Student Services-Learning Support Mr. Glenn Hiebert ghiebert@hsd.ca

Student Services-Guidance Mrs. Tanya Kasdorf tkasdorf@hsd.ca

Student Services-Guidance Mr. Lyle Koop lkoop@hsd.ca

7-8 Art Mrs. Annette Loewen aloewen@hsd.ca


Administration

Principal Mrs. Rita Rebizant rrebizant@hsd.ca

Vice-Principal Mr. AJ Neufeld aneufeld@hsd.ca


School Administrative Secretary Ms. Heather Friesen hfriesen@hsd.ca

Secretary/Library Mrs. Arlene Monkman amonkman@hsd.ca

Library Support Specialist Mrs. Michelle King mking@hsd.ca

Head Custodian Mr. Allan Tkachuk


Educational Assistants

Mrs. Amanda Dupont

Mr. Carson Dyck

Mrs. Laura Dyck

Mrs. Cora Kehler

Ms. Val Klassen

Ms. Jackie Lawrie

Mr. Alex McIntosh

Mrs. Sandra Peters

Mrs. Vanessa Plante

Ms. Deneen Treble


We are excited to have the students back in the school!

Big picture

Month At A Glance

Wednesday, September 16th Picture Day

Friday, September 18th Strong Connections Day #1

Monday, September 21st Strong Connections Day #2

Wednesday, September 30th Orange Shirt Day


Monday, October 12th Thanksgiving Day (No Classes)

October 13-16 Interim Report to Parents (by phone)

October 19-23 Bus Safety Week

Remember, Picture Day is coming on Wednesday, September 16th

Make it simple by ordering your portraits online using your Picture Day ID and child's first name to get started. Online order information will be given to your student.


Remember to smile and have fun!!

Big picture

Student Messages

This year our students are dismissed at different times at the end of the day. If you have a message for your student, please be sure that you contact the office or the homeroom teacher with that message prior to 3:00 P.M. With students beginning to leave at 3:25, it is difficult to get the message to the student in that short period of time. We try our best - but we cannot guarantee that they will get their message if it is called in last minute!


Thanks so much for helping us with this!

Lunch Hour

On Friday we sent an email home reminding everyone that students will stay on campus for lunch (unless they go home regularly for lunch). Students are not allowed to go off campus to pick up lunch at Tim Horton's, Co-op, etc.


Another reminder - Microwaves are not available for heating up lunch food. Please send items to school that do not have to be warmed up. Please also remember to send whatever utensils the students need to eat their lunch (ie cutlery).


Thanks so much for your cooperation!

Address Changes

It would be appreciated if you would go on the Parent Portal and verify that your information for this year is correct. If there are any changes (new address, different phone numbers or contact information), please let us know. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT FOR US TO HAVE UP-TO-DATE CONTACT INFORMATION.

If your email address has changed or you have acquired an email address, we would appreciate receiving that information. Email is an excellent form of communication between parent and teacher and we would like to keep you updated on the progress of your child.


Want to Contact Us?

Click on the Stonybrook website by viewing sms.hsd.ca and find email links to your child’s teacher to stay in touch.


Security!

Security cameras are installed both inside and outside of the school. These cameras help monitor many areas on the school grounds (ex. Bicycle racks). These cameras help make Stonybrook Middle School a safer school for your child.


We are looking forward to having a great year with your child!

Upcoming Important Event!-CANCELLED!!

A Friendly Reminder! Our Peak of the Market Sales fundraiser - will NOT be happening this year!

A Peanut/Nut and Scent Safe School!

SMS is a peanut/nut safe school, and as we have students who are allergic to nuts, we need your help. Please do not send any peanut and/or nut type products for lunch or snacks. If students should forget and bring those products, the teachers will place it in a Ziploc bag and ask the student to take it back home. We hope this does not cause a great inconvenience to you, and would appreciate your cooperation and understanding.

We would also appreciate if students would not wear perfume or strong smelling deodorants or lotions, as there are students/staff that have allergies to strong scents.

Students who have these allergies, please have your epi-pen on you at all times; and having a second epi-pen available at the school office is good practice.

Thank you for your cooperation!

Interested in some School Pridewear?

Big picture

The official Stonybrook Middle School Shop - Entripy Shops

https://stonybrookmiddleschool.entripyshops.com/ is the official online shopping portal for SMS. Enjoy browsing a wide selection of products that can be customized for you! There is no minimum order - however orders over $75 receive free shipping!
Big picture

We Believe...

The staff and administration of SMS believe in the Middle School philosophy that creates an inviting, supportive and safe place, a joyful community that promotes in-depth learning and enhances students’ physical and emotional well-being. We believe in a healthy school environment where human relationships are paramount. We believe that interactions among staff members and between students should reflect democracy, fairness and mutual respect. We believe that SMS should promote a safe and supportive environment where students are encouraged to take intellectual risks, to be bold with their expectations and to explore new challenges. SMS believes that every student, no matter of creed, color or uniqueness, serves as a genuine part of the community and contributes based on individual strengths.

Adapted from “This We Believe: Successful Schools for Young Adolescents”, National Middle School Association

As we embrace this Middle Years philosophy, we are teaching our students what it means to be “Ready to Learn”, and what responsibility, respect and safety looks like throughout the school, classrooms and playground. Together we are creating life long learners and positive global citizens.

Student Accident Insurance

Universal Health Insurance

If you are interested in Student Accident Insurance, please see the attached Information Bulletin.