JISD Counseling Weekly Update

March 16th-20th

School Closure What’s Expected

Judson ISD Counseling Department understands this is a difficult time where our students and parents may have questions, anxiety, or unsure of what is to come for the rest of the school year. We are here to help.


In order to support our Judson ISD students during this time of closure we will continue to provide weekly updates. We ask parents to work with us and limit the media coverage your child is viewing. Instead have them visit the Judson ISD website for updates. As we continue to be closed students will still have the opportunity to have instruction, have educational support , practice social emotional learning , and have college and career readiness planning. Students will have to set time to do their school work at home. Counselors will be available as needed.

New Student to our District for 2019-2020 School Year (Current school year)

Due to school being temporarily closed until April 3rd. We will have limited registration taking place.


This registration process is ONLY FOR FAMILIES WHO HAVE RECENTLY MOVED TO THE AREA AND NEED TO ENROLL THEIR CHILDREN IN SCHOOL RIGHT NOW. Once you complete the Google Form linked below, your campus will contact you to welcome you to our district and provide you further information.


https://forms.gle/fGxuQNbGbjFeC8dr6


CANCELLED For anyone who does not have online access via phone or computer, the JISD ERC building will be open on Wednesday, March 25, 2020 from 9 am-12 pm. The Judson Education Resource Building, (ERC) is located at 8205 Palisades Drive, Live Oak, TX. 78233

Mindfulness Resources for Students

In order to ensure you have self care while at home use some of these mindfulness techniques to assist you.


Equal Breath : Self-Awareness activity that helps us slow down our breath and nervous system. This activity is a positive way to check-in, focus, and relax.

  1. Sit up tall and roll your shoulders back.
  2. Inhale to a slow count of 4 as you draw your shoulders up by your ears.
  3. Exhale to a slow count of 4 as you lower your shoulders away from you ears
  4. Repeat for 10 breath cycles.


Write & Rip : Self-Regulation activity to help release any negative thoughts or feelings. This is a great activity to practice if you are feeling sad, stressed, or worried.

  1. Sit up tall and roll your shoulders back.
  2. On a small piece of paper, write or draw what could be distracting you today.
  3. With a long exhale breath, rip the paper 3 times.


Memory Minute : Activity to help us release stress so that we can be focused and present.

  1. Sit up tall and roll your shoulders back.
  2. Take a deep breath and visualize a blank piece of paper.
  3. Sit quietly for one minute as you relax your brain and focus on your breath.


Secret Note : Self-awareness activity that helps build confidence. A creative way to support ourselves in a challenging situation.

  1. Think about when you're in a tough situation what words or images make you feel strong
  2. Write or draw your answer on a small piece of paper.
  3. Place your Secret Note in a safe place, and take it out when you need a reminder

College and Career Readiness -7th-12th grade Schoolinks Resources

Students continue to access schoolinks at home! Login by using your JISD portal. You can explore colleges and careers. Use this time to favorite your future college and take virtual tours. High School students research scholarships available.


Next week we will provide learning modules for you to work on while at home.

AP Students Study from Home

Taking an AP test this school year?


Visit Khan Academy for resources to prepare . https://www.khanacademy.org/sat

Counseling Services while School Closure

We are proud to announce Judson ISD will be providing Counseling Services for our students throughout this time of closure. We will have services for elementary, middle, and high school students. Different areas of assistance will be provided with our expert staff to help. Services will be limited Monday-Friday 8:00-3:30 PM for after hour services we have listed emergency phone numbers. We will also be sending out weekly newsletters with updates and mindfulness techniques that students can use while at home.


Elementary, Middle and High School Counseling Services - Students who are experiencing anxiety, stress, sadness, or feeling uncertain about he Coronavirus. You can email or contact the following counselor or social worker. If calling you will be asked to state your name and school of attendance.



The following staff will be available Monday -Friday 8:00-3:30


Elementary Contacts


Ms. Duhart

cduhart@judsonisd.org

(210) 595-0355


Ms.Wright

jwright@judsonisd.org

(210) 580-6814


Ms. Tarango

starango@cisssa.org

(210) 580-6764


Bianca Valdez

bvaldez@cissa.org

(210) 695-0813


Gabriela Valdez

gvaldez@cissa.org

(210) 781-8855


Ms. Whorton

cwhorton@judsonisd.org

(210) 764-9681




Middle School Contacts



Ms. Brown

tbrown708@judsonisd.org

(832) 356-7864


Ms. James

tjames013@judsonisd.org

210-764-9658


Ms. Rodriguez

rrodriguez485@judsonisd.org

(409)234-5663


Ms. Donatto

sdonatto@judsonisd.org

(210) 764-9419


Amanda Reynosa

areynosa@cissa.org

(210) 764-9506


Criscinda Rivera

crivera@cissa.org

(210) 764-9569


High School Contacts



Ms. Ornelas

mornelas@judsonisd.org

(210) 764-9798


Ms. Coleman

scoleman@judsonisd.org

(210) 595-4088


Ms. Lima

llima@judsonisd.org

(210) 617-3161


Ms. Mireles

mmireles@judsonisd.org

210-695-0092


Tara Radinsky

tradinsky@cissa.org

(210) 764-9621


Erin Harris- Perkins

Eharris-perkins@cissa.org

(210) 595-9177


Elementary, Middle, and High School Counseling Services Students worried about school work, scheduling, STAAR Testing or need a check in with Counselor. You can email or contact the following counselor or social worker. If calling you will be asked to state your name and school of attendance.


The following staff will be available Monday -Friday 8:00-3:30



Elementary Contacts



Ms. Iturbe

jiturbe@judsonisd.org


Ms. Hadas

ahadas@judsonisd.org

210-564-7487


Ms. Copeland

kcopeland@judsonisd.org

210-764-9671


Ms. Hill

bhill@judsonisd.org

210-764-9462


Middle School Contacts



Ms. Gloor

cgloor@judsonisd.org

(210) 764-9560


Ms. Faulkner

sfaulkner@judsonisd.org

(210) 764-9620


Ms. Mitchell

cmitchell@judsonisd.org

(832) 900--0508


Ms. Hildebrand

ahildebrand@judsonisd.org

(305) 697-8154


Ms. Thompson

tthompson@judsonisd.org

(318) 479-1364.


Angel Drake

adrake@cissa.org

(210) 764-9521


High School Contacts



Ms. Garcia

msgarcia@judsonisd.org

(210) 404- 4362


Ms. Alfaro

calfaro@judsonisd.org



Ms. Price

dprice@judsonisd.org

(210) 764-9719


Ms. Angulo

cangulo@judsonisd.org

(210) 595-9043



High School Senior Hotline- Being a Senior this school year will require for us to be ready for change and knowing that there may be many uncertainties let us help you. Please call for the most up to date information. You can email or contact the following counselor or social worker. If calling you will be asked to state your name and school of attendance.





Ms. Cruz

jcruz@judsonisd.org

(210) 580-6621


Ms. McClellan

lmcclellan@judsonisd.org

(210) 764-9640


Ms. Allen

aallen@judsonisd.org

(210) 764-9721


Ms. Jackson

kjackson@judsonisd.org

(702) 781-0960


Ms. Martinez

mmartinez272@judsonisd.org

(409) 234-6678

Food Service Assistance

Judson ISD will be providing food services for breakfast and lunch at the following campuses:



  • Candlewood
  • Crestview
  • Hopkins
  • Olympia
  • Wagner High School
  • Judson High School



Meals will be served through curbside service and no one will be allowed in the building


*Future site opening up at Metzger Middle School on Thursday, March 19, 2020. *


Breakfast will be served curbside from 8:00-9:00 a.m.

lunch will be served curbside form 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Please come by and pick up your child's breakfast and lunch.

Other Assistance Needed

Military Family in our district and you need assistance contact Ms.Greenwood by email sgreenwood@judsonisd.org or by phone (210) 802-6709


If you participate in our McKinney Vento program and are in need of assistance. Please contact Ms. Young by email dyoung@judsonisd.org or by phone (210) 764-9571


If you are experiencing difficulty in providing basic necessities for your family and need additional assistance, please contact the following:

Monica Chavarria by email mchavarria@judsonisd.org or by phone (210) 541-2731

Trisha Walker by email twalker972@judsonisd.org or by phone (210) 595-9698

Reynae Herrera by email rherrera447@judsonisd.org or by phone (210)595-9541

Monica Garcia by email mgarcia083@judsonisd.org or by phone (210) 275-4031

Hotline and Help Lines

SA Food Bank

Families can call in and provide their zip code to find the closest food resource location to them. Hours of operation 8:00 AM- 8:00 PM.

(210) 431-8326


United Way Information and Referral

211 or (210) 227-4357


Texas Child Abuse Hotline

1-800 252-5400


Center for Health Care Services/ Bexar County 24 hour Crisis hotline

(210) 223-7233 or 1-800-316-9241


Crisis Text Line

Text home to 741741 when going through any kind of emotional crisis and a crisis counselor will respond via text.


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

1-800-273-8255

More to Come Next Week

We will have updates on how to access transcripts, scheduling information and Personal Graduation Plan updates. We will continue to monitor emails and calls and provide student answers weekly.
Judson ISD Guidance and Counseling Department

Judson ISD Guidance and Counseling Department

Thank you for choosing Judson ISD. Please check our website for updates.