Friday 4-H Fair News Blast

Friday, August 9, 2019

Saturday's Schedule ...

9:00 a.m. Livestock Judging Contest, register at 8:30 a.m.


2:00 p.m. 4-H Livestock Premium Sale


6:00 p.m. Parade - Horses, Dairy and Beef animals welcome in the parade


7:30 p.m. Horse 4-H Fun Night (Horse Arena)


8:00 pm Silent Auction ends for Quilts in 4-H Building, winners announced.


10:00 p.m. Release all static exhibits in 4-H Building, Horses, Rabbits, Poultry. Rabbits and Poultry will not have a Sunday release.


***No Livestock leaves Saturday Night; Livestock is released on Sunday

*******

Thinking ahead ...


The livestock judging contest is Saturday morning at 9:00 am. This is for the little ones up to the experienced ones. (Yes, we have trophies even for the Clover Kids!) It's a great learning process, all while being with your friends. Register at 8:30 am.

Sunday Morning Clean-up Prizes ...

Remember clean up day before the fair? There's also a clean up day after the fair, to put things away and clean up after ourselves. And better than root beer floats, there's the opportunity to win a prize! All kids who help clean up get to put their name into the bucket to be drawn for a prize. HOVER BOARDS! See the list of prize sponsors below....
Big picture

*******

We've been talking about Volunteer Award Nominations. See "Past Winners" below...

Paper forms for this year's nominations are in the 4-H Fair Office.

Big picture
Big picture

*******

Herdsmanship

. At least one attendant should be present at the club exhibit between 9:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. daily to care for Herdsmanship needs. A herdsmanship check will be conducted one hour after the show but not before that time. Pens will be checked following the release times on Sunday.
Big picture

*******

State Fair Static Exhibits

4-Hers who have had exhibits selected to go to the state fair, here are the special directions. Read Carefully:

Foods ....

Big picture

Vegetables ....

Big picture

Flowers .....

Big picture

All Other Exhibits ....

Big picture

********

State Fair Livestock Entries

State Fair entry website: www.statefair.org. All State Fair livestock entries must be submitted no later than 8:00 pm Central Time on August 10, 2019.

*******

AKSARBEN Livestock Entries

AkSarBens must be submitted online through the online process via aksarbenstockshow.com. Online registration opens August 1st, ending on August 31st at midnight Central Time.

*******

THANK YOU to all the Superintendents who have worked endlessly. Your efforts have paid off because (from our point of view) the Shows have been GREAT! We can't tell you thank you enough!


Lauren, Katie, Tracy, Harlee, and Sondra

Scholarship News we received today ...

The 4S Goat Expo would like to extend their scholarship to young goat producers in the state of Nebraska. This scholarship is open to Seniors in High school and Freshman in college. The deadline for this scholarship is September 10th.

Big picture

Nebraska Extension Cass County

Lauren Stohlmann, Extension Educator and Unit Leader, lauren.stohlmann@unl.edu

Katie Kreuser, Extension Educator, katie.kreuser@unl.edu

Tracy Ensor, Extension Assistant, tracy.ensor@unl.edu

Sondra Buell, Office Manager, sondra.buell@unl.edu

Harlee Brauckmuller, 4-H Summer Intern, harlee.brauckmuller@huskers.unl.edu

General Mailbox, cass-county@unl.edu