Finalize vs. Posting

What is the difference?

Grading Process for Teachers

  1. Teachers enter grades for Assignments with Dates within the grading Window.


  1. Teachers POST within the grading within the grading Window.


  1. Teacher FINALIZES grades. This is an electronic signature, stating that the teacher has checked their grades and approves the grade submission.

Let’s talk about a few different scenarios

Grading Cycle: OPEN

Teacher Finalized, but needs to change a few grades. The grades will appear RED if they were changed AFTER finalizing. And the grades WILL NOT be updated in the report card or progress report unless the grading clerk REPORTS the grades.
Option #1 Reposting: Teacher Finalized Grades: If a teacher finalized their grades, on an employee with security to “Campus Gradebook post” can repost grades. This process will update the grading cycle averages that have been modified in anyway.



  1. Go to Campus Gradebook Post

  2. Select the Grade Type (current grading cycle open)

  3. Click Load Sections

  4. Click on the ‘Finalized Sections’ radio button

  5. In the ‘Teacher Name’ field, type in the last name of the teacher and select the correct name from the list.

  6. Check every section that needs to be reposted.

  7. Click Unfinalize. The sections must be unfinalized prior to reposting.

  8. Wait for the Unfinalize process to be complete, then click Load Sections.

  9. Unfinalized - no selections will be selected by default

  10. In the ‘Teacher Name’ field, type in the last name of the teacher and select the correct name from the list.

  11. Check every section that needs to be reposted.

  12. Click Post Grades

Option #2 Reposting: Teacher DID NOT Finalized Grades: This options is only used when the grading window has closed. If the Grading Window is still open and the teacher has NOT finalized, the teacher can repost as often as the want until they Finalize or the grading cycle window closes.



  1. Go to Campus Gradebook Post

  2. Select the Grade Type (current grading cycle open)

  3. Click Load Sections

  4. Unfinalized - no selections will be selected by default

  5. In the ‘Teacher Name’ field, type in the last name of the teacher and select the correct name from the list.

  6. Check every section that needs to be reposted.

  7. Click Post Grades

Grading Cycle: Closed

No new grades can be entered by teacher when the Grading Window is closed no matter the if the grades we posted or finalized. The Grades will appear RED if grades have been updated AFTER the grading cycle was closed. And the grades WILL NOT be updated in the report card or progress report unless the grading clerk REPORTS the grades.

Option #3 Teachers update their grades while the window is closed

  1. Teachers update/enter their grades and/or conduct, while the window is closed.

  2. Teachers tell the Grading Clerk they have completed updating their grades.

  3. Grading Clerk completes Option #1 or #2 from above.

Option #4 This option will only work if the teacher has NOT finalized.

  1. Grading Clerk requests the Grading Window to be opened.

  2. Teachers complete updating/entering grades and/or conduct.
  3. Teachers Post before the new requested window time closes.

Option #5 Grading Cycle is closed, teachers have finalized their grades. The Grading Clerk wants the teacher to update/enter grades.

  1. Grading Clerk requests the Grading Window to be opened.

  2. Go to Campus Gradebook Post

  3. Select the Grade Type (grading cycle)

  4. Click Load Sections

  5. Click on the ‘Finalized Sections’ radio button

  6. In the ‘Teacher Name’ field, type in the last name of the teacher and select the correct name from the list.

  7. Check every section that needs to be modified.

  8. Click Unfinalize

  9. The teacher completes updating/entering grades and/or conduct and Posts before the new requested window time closes.

  10. The teacher cannot finalize a second time.