Religion Project

Jack Armenia


Buddhism is a religion that started in India just like Hinduism. The founder of this religion is Siddhartha Gautama. He left his family at the age of 29 and meditated under a tree. He did this for 49 days straight and on that last day he had his answer. He is now known as "Buddha" this means the enlightened one. There were a couple holy books in the Buddhism religion. They were Pali Tipitilea, Mahayana, Vijrayana Canons. The Buddhist believe in reincarnation. When the soul is born again into a different body. They practiced Sila, Samadhi, and Prajna. Their code of conduct was the four noble truths and the eightfold path. The four noble truths are (1) All existence is suffering. (2) This suffering has a cause- mainly human desires, which can never be completely satisfied. (3) By suppressing desires or rising above them, one can end one’s suffering. (4) The way to do this is to follow eight key rules, known as the Eightfold Path. The eightfold path called for (1) knowledge of truth; (2) intention to resist evil; (3) saying nothing to hurt others; (4) respect for life, morality, and property; (5) holding a job that does not injure others; (6) working to free one’s mind of evil; (7) controlling one’s feelings and thoughts; and (8) practicing proper forms of concentration or mediation. The final resting place is Nirvana. Buddhism spread from India to China and other parts of the world through the Silk Road.
Buddhism affects its followers in many ways. One way is that the followers have a way of living. It's called the four noble truths and the eightfold path. These are set rules for the way they live.
The Life Of The Buddha Full BBC Documentary
Discovering Buddhism Module 1 - Mind and its Potential
Buddha Dreamer - Relaxing ZEN Music - ☯ ZEN MUSIC ☯