The Legislative Branch

The Senate

  1. The U.S. Senate is the upper legislative chamber in the federal government.
  2. Each state is granted two senators who represent the entire state; senators serve six-year terms and are popularly elected by their constituents.
  3. The President of the United States has the power to negotiate treaties and agreements with other nations, but the Senate must ratify them by a two-thirds vote in order to take effect.
  4. Every 2 years, 1/3 of the Senate is up for re-election. 2 years later, another 1/3 is, and 2 years after that, the last 1/3 is. After 6 years, it comes back to that 1st 1/3 again.
  5. Senate tries all impeachments, and they need a 2/3 majority to convict.
Big image

  • The Vice President of the United States is the head of the Senate and only votes in the event of a 50/50 tie.
  • The President Pro Tempore is second in command and presides over the Senate in the absence of the Vice President.
  • The Majority and Minority Leader's have oversight responsibility over the Secretary and Leader Assistants.