Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 12.05.21

Shout Out!

We had a group of 11 students join the Student Focus Group for the district with their first meeting this past week. Taking this opportunity to voice their opinions is powerful. They all left the library with a smile on their face. Student voice is important in the school system and we are proud that our students have taken on this opportunity. Thank you!


Our commitment

At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.

Band Concert Information

CONCERT #1: Intermediate Band, Concert Band, and Jazz Band

THURSDAY, Dec. 9th @ 7:00pm in the PSMS Gym

(students arrive by 6:30pm)


“Black and white on concert night”

Show you are serious about our performance by wearing dress clothing with black on the bottom and white on top. Contact Mr. Bletscher if you have questions or concerns about our Concert Attire!


Next Week:

CONCERT #2: Beginning Band (all 3 classes combined)

TUESDAY, Dec. 14th @ 7:00pm in the PSMS Gym

(students arrive by 6:25pm)


***MASKS REQUIRED AT ALL SCHOOL EVENTS

Upcoming Spirit Days

Big picture
Big picture

Reminder: Club Opportunities

All students are invited/encouraged to attend Power Hour held Tuesday, Wednesday, &/or Thursday. Please SIGN UP HERE or communicate with the office that you'd like to join!


There is still room in Running Club, Drama Club, Robotics Club, and Video Club. Check your grade level classrooms for more information.

Big picture
Big picture

Save the Date!

https://www.groupraise.com/events/213450


Eat Pizza and Raise $$$ for the PTO? It’s a win, win. Mention the Port Susan PTO when you order in person on December 15th,or use the coupon code GR213450P to order from Mod’s website (Stanwood Mod location only).

Big picture

*Next Weekend: SHS & CCC Open House

Open house at Stanwood High School and Church Creek Campus Saturday, Dec. 11

With the pandemic, many in our community have not had the opportunity to see inside the new Stanwood High School and the Church Creek Campus, home to Lincoln Hill High School, Lincoln Academy and Saratoga School. We are so incredibly grateful to our community for its support of the 2017 bond that funded the construction of both campuses.


Both sites will hold an open house on Saturday, Dec. 11:

  • Stanwood HS from 10 a.m. to 12 noon

  • Church Creek from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.


Following a brief opening ceremony at each campus, both buildings will be open for self-guided tours. Please join us and tour these new buildings.

Big picture

Community Resources Available!

With the holiday season approaching, we wanted you to be aware of the community resources available to our families. Please reach out to Amy Hart (Student Support Advocate) ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu if you have any questions.
Big picture
Big picture

Week of December 6th through 10th

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Lesson

Varsity VB Game vs MMS

Boys BB @ MMS


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Boys BB vs Centennial


Wednesday:

Late Start Schedule

VB vs SMS


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Band Concert #1: Intermediate, Concert, and Jazz


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

We hope you had a wonderful weekend!

Cherae Almanza, Prinicpal


Crysty Auckalnd, Assistant Principal

Please reach out with questions &/or concerns...

Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland (Athletic Director/Assistant Principal) cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Cherae Almanza (Principal) calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.


El Distrito Escolar de Stanwood-Camano School District no discrimina en sus programas o actividades por motivos de sexo, raza, credo, religión, color, origen nacional, edad, condición de veterano de guerra o grado militar, orientación sexual, expresión de género o identidad, discapacidad o uso de perro guía entrenado o animal de servicio, y ofrece igualdad de acceso a los Boy Scouts y a otros grupos de jóvenes especificados. El empleado mencionado a continuación ha sido designado para atender consultas y quejas de supuesta discriminación: Título IX / Oficial de Acción Afirmativa y Coordinador de Cumplimiento de Derechos Civiles, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), o la Sección 504 / Coordinador de la Ley de Discapacidades Estadounidenses, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu), Distrito Escolar Stanwood-Camano, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Teléfono: (360) 629- 1200.

Snow Route Information - Friday Family Communication

The weather forecast for Monday calls for a chance of snow.

Our transportation department has released Snow Routes for the 2021-2022 School Year. Please take a moment to review your student(s) routes should bus routes be changed due to snow, ice or other wintery weather conditions.

To ensure that you receive our calls about important school information, please help us by keeping your emergency contact information current in Skyward Family Access.


Skyward Family Access Login Instructions - English

Skyward Family Access Login Instructions - Spanish


Your contact information, including your phone numbers and email addresses, are synched with the School Messenger notification system we use to send out emails and phone calls.


Another great way to receive notifications is to sign up for FlashAlert. This is the system that media uses to create the “crawl” on TV stations for school districts in the region. Visit https://www.flashalert.net/id/StanwoodSD to receive notifications of closures or late starts. The FlashAlert app is available free for iPhone or Android mobile devices.