Krimmel Knights

November 28, 2018

Big picture

The Rampart: For Students, By Students

Check out The Rampart, an online literary magazine, for students, by students. This online publication was created in 2017. Students can submit their work to be featured online. The Rampart is managed by a dedicated team of students and staff. Check it out!

Dates to Know:

November 2018:

28 and 29 - MAP Testing Reports going home with students through math classes

30 - Coffee with the Counselors Session, 8:45 am @ Krimmel Library

30 - Jingle Jam Dance {6:30-8:30 pm, Krimmel Gym}


December 2018:

1 - p2p United Event at Klein Cain High School, flyer below

11 - High School Semester Exams start, see full schedule below.

20 - Last day of 1st semester {Early Release day for students}

Big picture

Tutoring Days and Times by Department

MAP Testing Reports

MAP Testing reports are being sent home with students through their math classes on November 28th and 29th.


Please ask your student to see their paper copy of their report from our beginning of the year MAP Testing.


Below is a sample Student Progress Report with explanations for parents, but you can also visit the MAP Testing Parent Toolkit website as well.


Here's a little more about MAP Testing to help you understand why we have students complete MAP Testing and how we use it to drive instruction in the classroom:


MAP Growth is a computer adaptive test created by NWEA that kids take two to three times per school year. The results provide teachers with information to help them deliver appropriate content for each student and determine each student’s academic growth over time.

After each MAP Growth test, results are delivered in the form of a RIT score that reflects the student’s academic knowledge, skills, and abilities. Think of this score like marking height on a growth chart. You can tell how tall your child is at various points in time and how much they have grown between one stage and another.

The RIT (Rasch Unit) scale is a stable, equal-interval scale. Equal-interval means that a change of 10 RIT points indicates the same thing regardless of whether a student is at the top, bottom, or middle of the scale, and a RIT score has the same meaning regardless of grade level or age of the student. You can compare scores over time to tell how much growth a student has made.

MAP Growth helps schools and teachers know what your child is ready to learn at any point in time. Teachers can see the progress of individual students and of their class as a whole. Principals and administrators can see the progress of a grade level, school, or the entire district.

Since students with similar MAP Growth scores are generally ready for instruction in similar skills and topics, it makes it easier for teachers to plan instruction. MAP Growth also provides typical growth data for students who are in the same grade, subject, and have the same starting performance level. This data is often used to help students set goals and understand what they need to learn to achieve their goals.

Big picture
Big picture

Krimmel Athletics Information

Big picture
Big picture

Names and Numbers to Know

Principal, Prentiss Harper, 832-375-7220, pharper@kleinisd.net

Principal's Secretary, Liz Harrison, 832-375-7220, eharrison3@kleinisd.net

Receptionist, Janice Engel, 832-375-7202, jengel1@kleinisd.net

Attendance, Delia Gardner, 832-375-7210, dgardner1@kleinisd.net

Clinic, Jenni Yancey and Dorothea Trotter, 832-375-7212, jyancey1@kleinisd.net or dtrotter@kleinisd.net

Registrar, Robin Wilmes, 832-375-7141, rwilmes@kleinisd.net


6th Grade Office:

Secretary, Kaye Lee, 832-375-7160, vlee1@kleinisd.net

Counselor, Aimee Thompson, 832-375-7164, athompson2@kleinisd.net

Assistant Principal, Tanya Brogger, 832-375-7165, tbrogger1@kleinisd.net


7th Grade Office:

Secretary, Elizabeth Alexander, 832-375-7170, ealexander1@kleinisd.net

Counselor, Amber Pryor, 832-375-7174, apryor@kleinisd.net

Assistant Principal, Ryan Youngblood, 832-375-7175, ryoungblood1@kleinisd.net


8th Grade Office:

Secretary, Tiffany Kirtley, 832-375-7180, tkirtley1@kleinisd.net

Counselor, Dora Hass, 832-375-7184, dhass1@kleinisd.net

Associate Principal, Stephanie Langner, 832-375-7185, slangner@kleinisd.net


Special Education Department:

Secretary, Erin Stevenson, 832-375-7152, estevenson1@kleinisd.net

Case Manager, Marenthia Nealy, 832-375-7154, mnealy1@kleinisd.net

Case Manager, Terri Leo, 832-375-7153, tleo1@kleinisd.net