Muskie Update

Speech and Debate Team Wins Speech Sweepstakes

Big image

The MHS Speech and Debate team competed at the Not only did we win the speech sweepstakes for the first time in 13 years... we also qualified three students to represent the state of Iowa at the national tournament this June!!! This is the first time in at least

13 years we have qualified three students!!

Members of Speech and Debate are:

Jessica Ahluwalia, Karrisa Burton, Greyson Cory, Jeramiah Daniels, Ezekial Ellis, Wyatt Foor,

Bria Holthe, Wyatt Mason, Lori Sutton, and Abigail Zoller.

The team of Karissa Burton and Bria Holthe qualified in Duo Interpretation.

Ezekial Ellis qualified in Dramatic Interpretation.

Two different alternates also qualified. This means, if another team is unable to attend, they would go in their place.

The freshman team of Jeremiah Daniels and Wyatt Mason qualified as top alternate.

Senior Abbie Zoller also qualified as alternate in Dramatic Interpretation.

Freshman Jessica Ahluwalia was the only freshman to make it to Semi Finals.

Freshman Wyatt Foor made it to final rounds in Humorous Interpretation.

Senior Lori Sutton competed as well and got the best scores she has gotten all year.

There were 14 teams total at this tournament including ourselves.

The Speech and Debate team coaches are Davis and Betsy Schrock

Congratulations! Proud to be a Muskie!

Congratulations to our Muscatine FFA members on a Good Day at Sub-Districts

Muscatine FFA members recently competed at Sub-District in their respective divisions.

Welders: Jacob Miller and Tanner Gerard

Conduct of Meetings: Lexi Donath, Trevor Paul, Breanna Coulter, Tyler Moeller, Freddy Scanchez,

RJ Strong, and Skylar Tumlinson

Alternate to districts in Ag Sales: Nolan Osland

Advancing to Districts:

The Parliamentary Procedure Team: Ryan Calvert, Kyle Tomlin, Kelsey Holladay, Summer Neece, John Brooks

Ag Broadcasting: Hunter Britton

Creed: Sarah McKillip

Job Interview: MaKayla Kellor

Prepared Public Speech: Alyssa Scholz

Extemporaneous Speech: Tiffany Tomlin

Fundraiser - Leukemia Lymphoma Society of America

Muscatine High School will hold a Miracle Minute fundraiser for the Leukemia Lymphoma Society of America during halftime of Friday night's boys basketball game. Two Muscatine students have been named this year's representatives for the Leukemia Lymphoma Society of America Student Series. Keylan Alvarado and Sebastian Mireles are two Muscatine students who are battling cancer. Like thousands of others fighting cancer, Sebastian and Keylan receive resources and support for the Leukemia Lymphoma Society, which relies upon donations. Please join us at Friday night's boys basketball game and help raise funds for Sebastian and Keylan and the Leukemia Lymphoma Society. Monetary donations will be accepted at the door and during halftime of the varsity game.

Tom LoBianco - Snowstar Ski Team

It is amazing how many clubs and teams outside of school-sanctioned activities and sports there are these days. Tom LoBianco has found a passion in ski racing. Tom is a 9th grade student at MHS.

Tom has been skiing on the Snowstar ski team since 2007. Snowstar Winter Park is located in Andalusia, IL. This team was started in 1992 by a small group of parents that wanted to teach skiing and racing skills. The team skis Alpine style ski racing, Giant Slalom (GS) and Slalom which are also included in Winter Olympic competitions. The team competes against eight other ski teams that are members of WIJARA (Wisconsin Illinois Iowa Junior Alpine Racing Association). This Association includes teams primarily from Illinois and Wisconsin with one each from Iowa and Missouri. There are four scheduled WIJARA races that take place at ski resorts in northern Illinois and Iowa and southern Wisconsin.

The snow season in this area will allow practices to begin sometime in December and end at the beginning of March. The Snowstar ski team practices twice a week from 6pm - 8pm with extra ski time afterwards. There are optional practice/development opportunities on some Mondays and Saturdays. The team has several coaches that are dedicated to the development of the racers. The individuals that participate develop advanced skiing skills and ability that turn them into great skiers. The team has had members from as far away as Fort Madison and Geneseo where as the majority of the members are from the Quad Cities area. Participants range in age from 5 to 18. Some of the Snowstar team racers have moved up to the USSA (US Ski and Snowboard Association) racing circuit, went to college on a skiing scholarship and have competed for a place on the US Olympic Team. Pretty awesome accomplishments for individuals starting on a small Midwestern ski hill!

For more information on the Snowstar Ski Team please visit the Team's website or Facebook page.

WIJARA was formed in 1980 to promote junior racing throughout the Midwest allowing competition outside a team’s home ski area. The WIJARA organization currently consists of over 375 racers with eleven teams from Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa and Missouri. Emphasis is on having fun while developing race skills and team spirit.

The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association (USSA) is the national governing body of Olympic skiing and snowboarding. It is the parent organization of the U.S. Ski Team, U.S. Snowboarding and U.S. Freeskiing. Developed to facilitate participation in national and international competition, the Olympic sports organization provides structure for competitive skiing and snowboarding.

2016 MAC All-Conference Boys Swim - Muscatine

The following four Muscatine Swim Team Members were selected to the
2016 MAC All-Conference Swim Team. Isaac Heth also competed in the State Swim Meet last weekend and improved his qualifying time by .37 seconds. **Congratulations!**

MHS Football Players Sign to Play at the College Level

Big image


Plaza Lanes

2701 Douglas Avenue • Des Moines

Class 3A – Wednesday, February 24 • 10:00 a.m. (Doors open at 9:00 a.m.)

Admission $10

Big image
Pictured are: (back row) Christin Swank, Ragan Carey, Chelsea Harris, Gabi Evans
(front row) Jaelynn Klein, Kaitlyn Bierman