Shawna's Introduction

About Me

Hello class, my name is Shawna Roberts and I just turned 30 years old on January 2, 2015. I live in Palm Bay Florida with my wonderful husband and three handsome little boys: Greyson (2), Trevor (7) and Cameron (9). All my life growing up, I wanted to be a marine biologist. I absolutely love dolphins and wanted to do anything that involved training and playing with them. My dream job was to work at SeaWorld or Discovery Cove as a dolphin trainer, but that all quickly changed after I had my second child. Trevor, is considered "special needs" he has been in and out of doctors offices and therapy sessions since he was 2 years old. At age 3 he was introduced to an EELP (Early Educational Learning Program) program, and it was during his time here that I knew I wanted to work with these type of children. Trevor completed his EELP program and went on to Kindergarten and First grade at the same school. He did great in EELP, but we started to notice a struggle once kindergarten came around. I have to say as a parent, it broke my heart everyday as I would wake up and watch as my child would scream and fight because he did not want to go to school. I knew that I wanted to show children like Trevor how fun and rewarding school really is. Trevor now goes to a private school here in Palm Bay and absolutely loves it. This was his first year, and during winter break he actually cried because he missed school. That, made me feel great, and now here I am at Ashford University with just this class and 1 more to go before I obtain my AA in Early Childhood Education. Once I hold this degree I would love to work as a teaching assistant or aid in an EELP classroom or ESE (exceptional student education) classroom. I don't have much experience working with children however, I do have some. I am the oldest of four children so growing up I definitely did my share of helping out with my younger brothers and sisters. As a mom to three, I get to experience life and responsibilities with young children each and everyday. I have also worked at a few day-cares, one of them being a day care for under privileged children. Right now, I am working at a grocery store and although I love my job (well.... I love the people) I can not wait to be inside a classroom. I look forward to meeting all of you and learning about the different developmental stages of a child's life. Good luck to each and everyone of you!