MGM 6th Grade House News

October 19, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 6th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 6th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


School Counseling

Laura Stockdell- lstockdell@lexington1.net


House Leader

Tracey West - twest@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Claire Calcina- ccalcina@lexington1.net

Mindy Matthews - mhmatthews@lexington1.net

Matt Bonte'- mbonte@lexington1.net

Social Studies

Courtney Garrison -cgarrison@lexington1.net

Ryan Miles - rmiles@lexington1.net

Sarah Huey-Clowney - shuey-clowney@lexington1.net

Science

Patrick Burnett- pburnett@lexington1.net

Sara Loper - sloper@lexington1.net

Dr Jessica Quinton - jquinton@lexington1.net

Math

Megan Freiburger - mfreiburger@lexington1.net

Amber Chavis- achavis@lexington1.net

Ashley Seats - aseats@lexington1.net

Tracey West-twest@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE- Ben Anderson- rbanderson@lexington1.net

Chorus - Auggie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish- Manuel Vasquez mvasquez@lexington1.net

Student Led Conferences-Date CHANGED

Student Led Conferences will take place on the afternoon of Thurs., Oct. 25th. You received an email with a sign up link from your child's CREW leader. Students will be bringing home a reminder card on Wed. It will have your child's CREW Leader, Room Number, and the time of the conference.


You may park in the front or back parking lot. We will have someone at both doors greeting you and helping you get to your child's CREW leader's assigned room.


THANK YOU for taking the time to come in and hear the wonderful things your child has to share about his/her learning experiences.

Encore News

Save the Date:

MGM DANCE - FALL SHOW featuring original student choreography


Thursday November 8th, MGM Auditorium


6:00pm (6th & 7th grade combined show)

7:30pm (8th grade show)

6TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: In ELA we are beginning our Narrative Writing Unit. Students will be assessed multiple times throughout the writing process. The final Narrative Writing will be due on Monday, November 5th as a summative grade. Students cannot redo major writing assignments because we spend a lot of time conferencing with students and making revisions to their writing pieces.



MATH: 6th Math -Chapter 2/3- Retake-Friday, Oct. 26

-Quiz- multiplying fractions-Friday, Oct. 26


Accelerated-Quiz-Dividing Fractions-Wed. Oct 24th. Students on the Renaissance field study will take their quiz on Thurs. Oct. 25th.

ALL MATH RETAKES need to be completed by Friday Oct. 26th.



SCIENCE: Energy Part 2 Test will be Thursday October 25th. The study guide and quizlet cards are posted on Schoology.


SOCIAL STUDIES: Renaissance field studies summative grade on Wednesday, Oct. 24th. Students not attending the Renaissance field study will create a virtual field study assignment.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the following link for theworld language assessments. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1T-gYniUoXeNez_rKDfpl77_AgJ4mZbCYQfz56iXEfQ8

Science Field Study

Permission Forms will be coming home next week. Permission Forms will be due on Nov. 16th and checks need to be made out to Meadow Glen Middle School.

THANK YOU

MGMS Counseling Information

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-xnH9PvyUElelFlTEJra19POC1WaDdGR0F6N3VFanFjY0RZ


Follow our counseling center on twitter @mgmcounseling.

PTO Information

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.


SIgn up Genius Link for Teacher Appreciaton help.

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day!

WE ARE HAVING A FANTASTIC START TO THE 2018-19 SCHOOL YEAR!