Animal Life Cycles

What is a Life Cycle?

  • All animals have life cycles with at least two stages.
  • A life cycle refers to the changes an organism goes through from inception through adult life. It is a process of change, or metamorphosis.
  • Life cycles can differ for insects, amphibians, and other organisms.

Cottonwood leaf beetle life cycle (#309)

Complete vs. Incomplete Metamorphosis

4 stages -
1) Egg
2) Larva
3) Pupa
4) Adult

3 stages -

1) Egg

2) Nymph

3) Adult