Erik Erikson


Primary Theory About Child Develpoment

Erikson's primary theory about child development was that personality develops in different stages. Erikson's theory was similar to Freud's theory because they both thought that the personality and behavior were all influenced mainly during childhood and after birth. The 8 stages that Erikson thought that personality developed in were:

Hopes (0-2 years)

Will (2-4 years)

Purpose (4–5 years)

Competence - (5–12 years)

-the ability to do something successfully or efficiently.

Fidelity (13–19 years)

-faithfulness to a person, cause, or belief, demonstrated by continuing loyalty and support.

Love (20–24 years)

Care (25–64 years)

Wisdom (65-death)

Erickson's stages of psychosocial development

Why does this person matter?

I think Erik Erikson matters because he is really important to children and people because he helped people understand the 8 stages of development and see human and child development better and in a new way.