Chartwell School: The Bulldog Bark

Your Weekly Information Update

August 12, 2021

Looking Forward to the Start of School!

Chartwell faculty and staff have been preparing for two weeks to welcome our families back to school. Classrooms are decorated, the new high school buildings are ready, and the campus is filled with anticipation and excitement.


To be sure we start off prepared, there are some very important updates and actions that we need all families to review. Please take a moment to read this issue of The Bulldog Bark in its entirety.


Thank you so much.

COVID Back to School Protocols Zoom Sessions for Parents and Guardians

In preparation for the new school year and in light of recent state and local mandates, Head of School Kate Mulligan will be hosting three Zoom sessions to review current state and local COVID guidelines and Chartwell's processes and procedures.


Please attend one of the following sessions:


Sunday, August 15 (Two options)

5:00 pm

Zoom Link


7:00 pm

Zoom Link


Monday, August 16

5:30 pm

Zoom Link

FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL INFORMATION

First Days of School

MONDAY, AUGUST 16

High School students and parents arrive at 8:15 am


  • Parents and students go to the basketball court for welcome and teacher introductions
  • Students will then leave with their advisory groups
  • Parents will then visit tables outside of McMahan for form drop-off and completion, carpool sign-ups, and more



TUESDAY, AUGUST 17

Lower School students and parents arrive at 8:15 am


  • Parents and students go to the basketball court for welcome and teacher introductions
  • Students will then be dismissed in their cohorts
  • Parents will visit tables outside of McMahan for form drop-off and completion, t-shirts, business office, carpool sign-ups, and more
  • Please depart campus once you have completed important action items because middle school families will be arriving soon.



Middle School students and parents arrive at 9:00 am


  • Parents and students go to the basketball court for welcome and teacher introductions
  • Students will then be dismissed to their cohorts
  • Parents will visit tables outside of McMahan for form drop-off and completion, t-shirts, carpool sign-ups, and more

COVID Protocols: The Basics for First Day of School

Prior to the first day of school, please review the following guidelines and the attached process for what to do in case of exposure.


  • Students ages 12 and up are strongly encouraged to be vaccinated.
  • Masks will be worn indoors at all times, including transitions.
  • Masks will be worn outdoors whenever cohorts are mixed (electives, recess, PE, after school activities, clubs, and sports)
  • Masks can be removed for lunch and snack times within cohorts.

Please plan on attending one of the above Zoom sessions for more details about protocols and precautions in place.

COVID Exposure Protocol

The Monterey County Department of Health has outlined important protocol for when a student has close contact exposure with a confirmed case of COVID-19. Please review the chart below.
Big picture

DIRECTOR LETTERS AND FORMS

Letters from Division Directors

Earlier this month, division directors emailed letters to all families including important information to start the new year. The letters are included below for easy reference.


FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL HIGH SCHOOL: Monday, August 16

(8:15 am arrival)


FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL LOWER AND MIDDLE: Tuesday, August 17

(Lower School arrival at 8:15 am; Middle School arrival at 9:00 am)

IMPORTANT: Mandatory Forms Must Be Turned in By First Day of School

There are several important forms that MUST be completed and turned in by the first days of school. These forms were included in previous communications from school directors. You will have the opportunity to turn them in or complete them on the first day of school in McMahan Hall.


If you have any questions about the forms or want to confirm which outstanding forms you need to complete, contact Rozalyn Harris at 831-394-3468 or academic.assistant@chartwell.org



Mandatory Forms


Lower and Middle School Welcome Packet Forms


High School Welcome Packet Forms


Emergency Contact Form (attached below)


Optional Forms


Volunteer Driver and Vehicle Use Policy


LiveScan Application


Student Driver Permission Online Form

ATHLETICS

High School Student Sports Sign-Up

We are excited to announce the following competitive sports teams for Chartwell High School during the 2021-2022 school year. Both boys and girls are eligible to sign-up for all sports.


Winter- Basketball (Boys and Girls Teams), Wrestling

Spring- Co-Ed Golf


In order to prepare, please complete the form below (or click here) indicating which sports you are interested in joining.


If you have any questions at all, please reach out to Garrett Benjamin at gbenjamin@chartwell.org.

Middle School Sports Sign-Up

We are excited to announce the following competitive sports teams for Chartwell Middle School during the 2021-2022 school year. Both boys and girls are eligible to sign-up for all sports.


Fall- Volleyball (based on interest), Soccer, Cross Country, Flag Football

Winter- Basketball, Cheerleading, Wrestling

Spring-Track and Field, Golf


In order to prepare, please complete the form below (or click here) indicating which sports your child is interested in joining. The volleyball team's first game is in early September. If we have enough interest, Coach Patterson will begin practices shortly after school starts.


If you have any questions at all, please reach out to Coach Rory Patterson at rpatterson@chartwell.org.

Questions?

If you have questions for us, please contact one of the following Chartwell Team Members:


Head of School, Kate Mulligan: kmulligan@chartwell.org

Assistant Head and Director of Outreach and Family Engagement, Danielle Patterson: dpatterson@chartwell.org

Director of Lower and Middle Schools, Jodi Amaditz: jamaditz@chartwell.org

Co-Directors of High School: Cheryl Milton (cmilton@chartwell.org) and Jeff Morton (jmorton@chartwell.org)

Director of Student Support: Billy Swift bswift@chartwell.org

Director of Campus Management and Safety, John Langrill: jlangrill@chartwell.org

STEAM or EdTech: Topher Mueller at tmueller@chartwell.org

Director of Advancement and Communications, Elena Mueller: emueller@chartwell.org

Middle School Athletics: Rory Patterson rpatterson@chartwell.org

High School Athletics: Garrett Benjamin gbenjamin@chartwell.org

Technical Support: John Langrill at jlangrill@chartwell.org