Portola Jr./Sr. High School

"Home of the Tigers"

A Message From Mrs. Sheridan

Thank you to all the sponsors, golfers, and volunteers that participated in the Purple Pride Booster Club Golf Tournament last weekend. The tournament brought in more than $9000.! We appreciate the Boosters for holding fundraisers that directly support our academic and sports program.


The staff and I are looking forward to having students back on campus on October 26th. We are working diligently to have classrooms ready and student schedules set in preparation for the change back to on-campus learning. Keep tuned into AERIES student and parent portals for updates.


We'll be seeing you soon!


~Mrs. Sheridan

Big picture
Big picture

Owen Bowling serves as Portola High’s student representative to the school board

Special to Plumas News by Roni Java


PSJHS Senior Owen Bowling is sworn-in on Oct. 14 to serve as a student representative to the school board. Photo by Roni Java

Portola Junior-Senior High School (PSJHS) student Owen Bowling was honored for his accomplishments and contributions to his school on Oct. 14 when he was installed as a student representative to the Plumas Unified School District’s Governing Board of Trustees.

School Board President Leslie Edlund and Trustees Dave Keller, Joleen Cline, and Traci Holt welcomed Owen, who is a senior at Portola High, during the board’s regular online teleconference meeting held via Zoom. Trustee Cline was all smiles as she administered the oath of office to the top achiever.

Owen Bowling serves as Portola High’s student representative to the school board

PJSHS Principal Sara Sheridan introduced Owen to the trustees with pleasure and told them the 12th grader is a very active student at his high school.

“He maintains a 4.19 GPA with a rigorous class schedule,” Sheridan said. “He is also a three-sport athlete competing in football, basketball, and golf. And if I had to guess, I think he might be our next Tiger Woods! He’s that good.”

The principal also said Owen has earned numerous awards in all three of his sports and that he is respectful, hardworking, and “probably one of the nicest kids that we have on this campus.”

Roar Drawing Winner of the Week!

Congratulations to Owen Fragiacomo for being this week's ROAR drawing winner! Mrs. Osburn nominated Owen "For coming to office hours when he needed assistance!"


Owen will receive an Amazon gift valued at $35.00!

Above and Beyond

Each week, we like to acknowledge staff members and supporters who go above and beyond their call of duty for PJSHS. Please help us appreciate Ms. Cooper for working with her Leadership class to make an Instagram page to keep everyone updated on what is going on with our student body! Check it out at Instagram@phs_official2020

Register now for the Cornhole Tournament!

Big picture

Sports Physicals

Attention to all students who plan on playing sports and/or want to participate in conditioning sessions. Students need to have a current sports physical to participate. EPHC is offering a $29.00 physical to students. See the flyer below.

* Attached below, is the form that you should take to your physical appointment.

Big picture
Big picture

Immunization Requirements

Big picture
Big picture

New on-campus learning schedule will be coming soon!

Big picture

Teacher Master List for Zoom

Remember, in order to access all of your teacher's Zooms, please refer to this Teacher Master List. By clicking on your teacher's name (in blue), you will be able to join their class.

Technical Support

Students that are experiencing technical problems with their laptop, accessibility to Zoom, or Canvas should submit a technical support ticket with this link. Be sure to leave your email, a phone number, and the best time to reach you for the technicians to reply speedily.


https://pusd.hesk.com/index.php?category=10&a=add

Big picture
Big picture

Student Symptom Screening and Temperature Procedure

Students will be screened prior to entering campuses for hubs.

Arriving on campus:


  1. Bus

    1. Parents shall wait in cars or outside with their students.

      1. The bus driver or other district employees to conduct screening prior to boarding. Students who don’t pass the screening will not be allowed on campus for the period of time recommended by health officials.

  2. Drop off

    1. Parents who drop off their students shall arrive at school during the designated time window, and wait in vehicles while district personnel conducts the screening. Students who don’t pass the screening will not be allowed on campus for the period of time recommended by health officials.

  3. Walk to school

    1. Students who walk to school shall arrive on campus at the designated time window and report immediately to the screening location, where district staff will conduct the screening.

      1. Parents must commit to allowing the district to screen, and to be available during their child’s time window in case the child needs to be picked up due to not passing the screening. Students who don’t pass the screening will not be allowed on campus for the period of time recommended by health officials.

The employee screening students will maintain and record a count of the number of students screened in a given session. No health data is to be collected or shared with any person other than the parent/guardian of the student being screened.

Child Nutrition Program Information

Big picture

Data Confirmation Needed!

Student Data Confirmation must be completed, If you haven't done so, please log in to the Parent Portal to confirm or update your student's data for the 2020-21 school year:

https://plumasusd.asp.aeries.net/Student/LoginParent.aspx


Thank you for helping us to serve you better!

Free Flu Vaccinations

Big picture
Big picture

Spirit Gear on Sale

Get your spirit gear now. We have new arrivals to choose from. The student store is open during 7th period in room P3.

From the left:

Carhart Beanie $25

T-Shirt $15

V- Neck $20

Hoodie $25

Long Sleeve T-Shirt $15


New Spirit Gear!

Big picture

2020-2021 Calendar

Upcoming Events

10/21 Cornhole Tournament

10/23 Last Day of First Quarter

10/26 Students return to school

10/30 Professional Learning Day- No School

11/1 Daylight Savings

11/11 Veterans Day- No School

Sports Calendar -TBD

Big picture
Big picture

Teacher Emails

PJSHS Teacher Emails

Robin Adrian-Murray -Teacher ramurray@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Rick Bass rbass@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Michelle Callahan mcallahan@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Erin Cooper ecooper@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Steve Dutton sdutton@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Ben Harston bharston@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Emily Haver ehaver@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Elisabeth (Henson) Torrason ehenson@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Tania Hutchins thutchins@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Daryl Hutchins dhutchins@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Jennifer Kimball jkimball@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Lori Marquette lmarquette@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Sara Murphy smurphy@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Brandi Murray bmurray@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Amanda Osburn aosburn@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Stacey Saez ssaez@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Brian Sheridan bsheridan@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Brittany Spence bspence@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Mark Womack mwomack@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Portola Jr./Sr. High School

Principal * Mrs. Sheridan Ext. 4400

Vice Principal * Mr. Sheridan Ext. 4405

Athletic Director * Mr. Sheridan Ext.4405

Counselor * Lori Marquette Ext.4416

Administrative Assistant * Laury Riggins Ext. 4401

Registrar/ Attendance Secretary * Audra Cormany Ext. 4402

Nurse * Emilee Pruitt* Nurse Christina Tate Ext 4413

Student Services Coordinator * Shannon Harston Ext.4433

Translate this Newsletter

**To translate the newsletter: view in your browser, click on the "Translate" button and select language from the drop-down menu**


** Para traducir el boletín informativo: visualice en su navegador, haga clic en el botón "Traducir" y seleccione el idioma en el menú desplegable **