Abraham Maslow

Founder Of Humanistic Psychology

Hierarchy of needs

With the details of air, water, and food, he chose five different broader layers: the physiological needs, the needs for safety and security, the needs for love and belonging, the needs for esteem, and the need to actualize the self, in that order.
Big image

Expanding the field of Humanistic Psychology

Maslow expanded the field of humanistic psychology to include the explanation of how human needs changed throughout an individual's lifespan.

Changing the Understanding of how People Think and Act

Maslow ranked the human needs from the most basic physical needs to the most advanced needs of self-actualization.

Studying the personalities of self-actualizers, they found many things in common ; he believed self- actualizers indicate a coherent personality syndrome and represent optimal psychological health and functioning.


Critics argue that this concept is considered relative to each culture and society and cannot be universally applied. Hierarchy of needs has been accused of cultural bias -- mainly reflecting Western values and ideologies.