School Board Notes

May 2016

Retiree Recognition

Big image
Methacton recognized 19 retirees who together, contributed more than 300 years of time and talent to their colleagues, students, and the families of the Methacton School District. Honored were:

Taryn Bath, Elizabeth Berkowitz, Molly Buler, Carollynn Butler, Debbie Cicippio, Nan Davis, Michelle Fisher, Margaret Greene, Vickie Hawkins, Angelyn Jennings, Helen Lech, Glynn McCann, Jean Kim McCracken, Eileen Morano, Lucretia Page, Janice Saporetti, Patricia Solomito, Christine Talmadge, Susan White, and Theodore Williams.

2016-2017 Proposed Final Budget Approved

During the May 17 work session of the Board, a presentation was made on the current status of the 2016-2017 budget. The proposed final budget, including a 3.35% tax increase, was approved at the regular meeting on May 24th.

This budget is now available for public review in anticipation of final budget approval scheduled for the regular June 28, 2016 meeting of the Board. Follow the budget progress online at

The Meetings in Review

Enrollment Vendor

The Board approved the administration to engage the services of Milone and MacBroom for the purposes of developing a second enrollment projection, conduct a capacity study, and redrawing of attendance boundaries. Dr. Zerbe's recommendation takes into consideration all options available and potential outcomes. While the Montgomery County Planning Commission would still be considered a good long-term choice, MCPC would not be able to begin work for a number of months, which may drag the matter out longer than needed. In addition, MCPC does not perform redistricting services or provide support in communication. As such, Milone and MacBroom was recommended as the the best vendor to address all the matters and to best coordinate this effort to bring closure to this discussion in January 2017.

2016-2022 Methacton Strategic Plan - A Blueprint for Success

The 2016-2022 Methacton School District strategic plan, the "A Blueprint for Success" was approved following a period of review and community feedback. Work on integrating the plan into the work of the district will now begin, with progress reports to parents and the community throughout.

All other items listed on the May 24 agenda were approved.

May Junior School Board Directors

Big image
This month's Junior School Board Directors are Audubon fourth grade students Anthony Daddazio and Kate Thomas. Anthony opened the meeting and led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance, while Kate shared a few words about what makes Audubon such a special place. Thanks to both families for coming out to the meeting and continuing this great new tradition!

Pictured above from left to right - School Board President Chris Boardman, Kate Thomas, Anthony Daddazio, Audubon Principal Tara Ricci, and Superintendent Dr. David Zerbe.

Check Presentation - Collegeville Rotary

Big image
Representatives of the Collegeville Rotary presented the district with a check for $2,557 to be allocated to the District's backpack program, providing support for families and students in Methacton.

Pictured above, from left to right, Board President Chris Boardman, Superintendent Dr. David Zerbe, and Collegeville Rotary Representatives Ravi Kurumety and Doug Cook.

M Award Presentations

The School Board recognized a number of students for excellence with the presentation of M awards.

For accomplishments in the Delaware Valley Science Fair: Johnathan Cheng, Ananth Dandibhotla, Samuel Geiser, Vivek Gopalan, Vaibhav Gupta, Sahas Kurumery, Ishaan Patel, Tulsi Patel, Achyut Reddy, Harleen Suri, Jeremy Wang, and Adam Zhang.

For accomplishments at the Intel Science and Engineering Fair: Karthik Yegnesh, and Shayan Farmand.

For accomplishments at the Montgomery County Science Research Competition: Peter Luba and Neha Vagvala.

For accomplishments at the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science Competition: Kassie Chen, William Chen, Emily Cheng, Gerry Liu, Ruchi Mulaiker, Jason Qiu, Harsha Santhanam, Abhi Shah, Carina Tse, Rebekah Varghese, and Mary Zhuang.

Congratulations to these fine Methacton High School students, who continue to represent Methacton on the local, state, national, and even international stage!

Three Arcola Intermediate School students were recognized for accomplishments in science research. Nicole Zhang was recognized for her achievements at the Pennsylvania Society Biomedical Research Competition. Ashmitha Sivakumar and Arushi Tiwari were recognized for their accomplishments at the Bright Schools Competition.

M Awards were also presented to Gayatri Pillai and Sarah Sterchak for their contributions as school board representatives over the past two terms.

Congratulations to all of these fine students.

May 17 School Board Work Session Meeting

5-17-16_Methacton_School_Board_Work Session_Mtg.

May 24 School Board Meeting

5 24 16 Regular Methacton School Board Mtg

Board Notes

The Methacton School District's Board of School Directors meets each month. School board work session meetings are generally held on the third Tuesday of the month, followed by the regular meeting on the fourth Tuesday (except during the month of December). Regular Board and work session meetings typically take place in the MHS LGI, and all residents are invited to attend. Committee meetings may take place in the Board Room at the Farina Center, or the MHS LGI. Meeting agendas are posted to agenda manager, and start times and locations are posted on the District's website. Please confirm meeting time and location before attending. Download the meeting calendar here. Watch the meeting video online.