Mecklenburg County

County Seat: Charlotte

"The biggest cozy county you will ever visit"

Mecklenburg County is located in the Piedmont region of North Carolina. The neighboring counties are; Union, Iredell, Cabarrus, York, Gaston, Catawba, Lincoln. Mecklenburg county was founded in 1762 and was named after the marriage of King George II and Charlotte of Mecklenburg Strelitz.

County Government

In the County Board of Commissioners there is 9 members. There is also 11 members on the city council of the county seat.

The city manager of Mecklenburg is Ron Carlee. He carries out laws, makes the budget and is the Chief executive.

Tourist Attractions

Mecklenburg is one of the fastest growing counties in the U.S. Mecklemburg was the first county to reach 1 million citizens in North Carolina. The NASCAR hall of fame is located in Charlotte. Charlotte is the largest city located in North Carolina. Some tourist attractions in Mecklenburg are Southpark Mall, and also the Bojangles coliseum. In the picture below is the NASCAR hall of fame.
Big image